Read what people think about The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane by Kelly Harms, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane

by Kelly Harms

The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane by Kelly Harms X
The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane by Kelly Harms
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Janice T. (Ruckersville, VA) (04/27/13)

Boring chicklit
This book started out as sort of funny and different. After winning the house it turned boring and predictable. I found myself skimming through chapters and then I finally skipped to the the last couple of chapters where everything come together as I had predicted it would.
Bonnie B. (Port St. Lucie,, FL) (04/27/13)

Good Chick-Lit
Janey and Nean both think that they're the winners of a one million dollar home through a contest on the television. They have the same names and live in the same town - Janine Brown of Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Janey works as a seamstress but her true love is cooking. Aside for her Aunt Midge, she is as solitary as people get. "My first instinct is to hide. This is my first instinct in any situation that involves people I have never met. She even gets hives from talking to strangers. She is not that excited at first about winning the house but her Aunt Midge is thrilled.

Nean is involved with an abusive boyfriend, one in a string of losers who are either abusive, drunks, or take advantage of her in one way or another. She is so excited to win the house that she takes the first bus she can to Maine in order to see it.

The book is about these two women and their contest for the home. It is chick-lit in the best sense of the word. The book is catchy and a page-turner. I really enjoyed it.
Power Reviewer
Joan (Miller Place, NY) (04/26/13)

A Dream House by the Ocean
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's a light, pleasant read, a perfect beach book. If you have always wondered what happens to the "HGTV Dream House" contestants and you love to cook this book is for you. It has broad appeal for so many readers. It is the perfect "escape" book. Put your feet up, pour a glass of wine, relax and enjoy "The Good Luck Girls…." I can't wait to read Ms. Harms next book.
Diane D. (Blairstown, NJ) (04/24/13)

Heartwarming & Fun
Two girls named Janine Brown...one enters a contest to win a fabulous house in Maine; the other's aunt enters her name, without her knowledge. The first is SURE she is going to win it, but it turns out that the other one does.

Both girls go to claim the house, and things get dicey, when they meet up. The book keeps you hooked, as you read along, waiting for things to blow up. Both girls have image problems, and there are love interests for both of them as well.

The aunt, Midge, is a funny gal...quirky and stabilizing at the same time. I really enjoyed the book and couldn't put it down, till I finished it. It is a light read, which is something most of us need now & then. Those who like romance will like it, but the story behind the girls' lives is what makes it a good book, so don't let that put you off.

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.