Read what people think about Close My Eyes by Sophie McKenzie, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Close My Eyes

by Sophie McKenzie

Close My Eyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 5 of 5
There are currently 40 reader reviews for Close My Eyes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Judy G. (Carmel, IN) (04/06/13)

Partially hooked
I was engaged and enjoying this book until it reached the latter chapters of the book when the plot was winding up to its conclusion. A couple of things just struck me wrong (don't want to spoil the plot for review readers) and I never did buy into the rest of the ending. For this reason my rating for this book is only average as it does not measure up to the work of other authors' work for 4-rated books.
Diane D. (Cape Elizabeth, ME) (04/06/13)

Not so thrilling....
Although I wanted to love this book, as it was reminiscent of Gone Girl and Before I go to Sleep, I found it lacking. The twists, even though far-fetched, were also predictable. It is a quick read, but for me, not ultimately rewarding.
Shelby L. (Hamden, CT) (04/04/13)

Better Than Some
Gen is married to Art. Eight years ago she lost her baby as a stillborn or so she believes. For eight years she has whined, wept and hoped, not living her life.
If you can get through the first 100 pages or so of this book you'll find the character development superb, the plot twisty and suspenseful and very gratifying.
It just takes a while to get there and at times you'll wonder why Art or Gen's friends and family haven't insisted on therapy or hospitalization to help her through the quick sand of grief in which she is stuck.
I do wonder though when I give a book like this a 4 where would I rate something like Wuthering Heights or The Invisible Bridge? I think we need a wider number spread as on a scale of 1-10. I might then put this as a 7.
Power Reviewer Sue J. (Wauwatosa, WI) (04/04/13)

Page turner!
I read Close My Eyes in two days, couldn't put it down! The story begins with Geniver and her husband Art going for a consultation for yet another IVF procedure. Eight years ago, Geniver delivered a stillborn girl and hasn't been successful in getting pregnant again. A women shows up a few days later at her door claiming that her baby was born alive and the doctor took her away while she was still under the anaesthetic. Close My Eyes unwinds as a story that is both complicated and compelling. I highly recommend this book, it was a fascinating read!
Caryl L. (Williamsburg, VA) (04/04/13)

Close my eyes
WOW! What a book. It's not often that I find a book that keeps riveted right to the end. A masterful read. The characters are well written, drawing the reader into their lives and problems. The plot has many twists and turns leaving the reader wondering. The final twist at the very end. I will look for Sophie McKenzie's next book eagerly.
Kathleen W. (New Brighton,, MN) (04/03/13)

You must be patient, dear reader!
The first 100 pages of CLOSE MY EYES started very s-l-o-w-l-y for me. I must admit to a few times when I momentarily thought about stopping. My advice to you, dear reader? DON'T. Once this story gets going, it absolutely gallops. As the chapters progress, many characters weave in and out and the reader acquires one bit and then another bit and then another bit as the plot unfolds. I, for one, never saw THAT ending coming! I have to say that I even halved my daily walk routine to read a few more chapters in between sessions ... something I have never done before.
While some have compared CLOSE MY EYES to GONE GIRL and BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP, I do believe it falls short of those marks but once this book takes off, it is a run away train until the very last page. My second piece of advice, dear reader? Find a comfortable chair for the last 250 pages of this book and clear your calendar for you are "in it to finish it.!"
Power Reviewer Portia A. (Mount Laurel, NJ) (03/30/13)

Wow! A real roller coaster ride..
If psychological thrillers appeal, this is a must-read. The characters felt real and the twists of plot held my interest on every page from the first to last. It was almost impossible not to read straight through just to see what was to happen.
And what did happen will leave you breathless.
Sue Z. (Mooresville, NC) (03/30/13)

Close My Eyes
Like many of the other reviewers of this book, I read it in one sitting and, like them I am sure that it will be a big seller. However, unlike many others, I read it to find out "why" because I was tipped off as to "who" . The author gave it away by her choice of the names of the main characters in the story. Anyone familiar with anything to do with the legend of Camelot would spot this too. As an American reader I also found the many references to London stores and current British slang a little strange ( although only a minor detail) Nevertheless I enjoyed the book, it was a fun read.

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.