Read what people think about Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Rage Against the Dying

by Becky Masterman

Rage Against the Dying
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2013
    320 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 27 reader reviews for Rage Against the Dying
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Lani S. (Narberth, PA) (12/25/12)

Riveting Read
As a 61 year old, it was an incredible treat to find such a feisty steel eyed older female heroine the likes of Brigid Quinn. This tough as nails ex-FBI agent is the principle character involved in a homicide case that was never completely solved and involved one of her rookies. The suspense was maintained from the startling opening to the surprise ending. This has GOT to be a best seller and a made for movie or TV series! Run out and read..You won't be sorry!
Shelby L. (Hamden, CT) (12/22/12)

Couldn't put it down
Hooray for Brigid Quinn and her creator Becky Masterman. As the title implies, Brigid will not "go gently into that good night" although she has been forced to retire from the FBI. At 59 years old she has created a quiet life for herself and husband but is drawn back into an unsolved case when the police find the supposed killer who confesses to the serial murders that happen yearly along Route 66. The prologue of the book grabs you and the book does not disappoint.
All of the characters are believable, the story plausible, the tension high. This is a winner of a thriller, up there with the best.
Shirley D. (Amherst, MA) (12/22/12)

Rage Against the Dying
The novel is very well crafted and is graced with some ideas that encourage deeper thought. However, it is not by any means a "thriller" and the characters never become real. They are cardboard cutouts caused partially perhaps by the use of a nickname for each. With the use then of the proper name, the flow of concentration is interrupted, confusion results and the character remains just a character. While it is interesting to see what happens to each, it really doesn't matter. There is very little connection between the reader and the character.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.