Read what people think about The Woman Who Died A Lot by Jasper Fforde, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Woman Who Died A Lot

A Thursday Next Novel

by Jasper Fforde

The Woman Who Died A Lot by Jasper Fforde

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Woman Who Died A Lot
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Cloggie Downunder

Another brilliant read.
The Woman Who Died A Lot is the seventh book in the popular Thursday Next series by Welsh author, Jasper Fforde. Some two years after her last (almost fatal) adventure, Thursday Next is still slowly recovering, but when Swindon’s council decides to offset their Stupidity Surplus by reforming Spec Ops, she is eager to head SO27, the Literary Detectives. That job goes to Phoebe Smalls, young, smart and enthusiastic; Thursday is offered Chief Librarianship of the Wessex All You Can Eat At Fatso’s Drinks Not Included Library Services. But this seemingly boring job does not keep Thursday out of the action (in a world where libraries are treasured and librarians have power!) The vengeful Deity is intent on smiting the sinful, and Swindon is the target in 4 days’ time (sixteen-year-old Tuesday is working on perfecting an anti-smiting technology in between school and researching Dark Reading Matter); Goliath are definitely up to something as their synthetic copies of Thursday are becoming increasingly sophisticated; mysteriously, rare and ancient codices by St. Zvlkx are being vandalised. As if that’s not enough, with the Chronoguard now defunct, eighteen-year-old Friday’s purpose in his life is revealed by a Letter of Destiny: he will murder Gavin Watkins and spend 30 years in jail. Jack Schitt and Aornis Hades make unwelcome reappearances, and fans of Fforde’s Last Dragonslayer series will recognise the Blessed Ladies of the Lobster. Thursday gets a tattoo, Tupperware is put to unusual use, Enid Blyton fundamentalists make threats, Imaginary Childhood Friends and ninjas prove their worth in scientific research and Thursday’s dodo, Pickwick makes an enormous contribution. Fforde introduces the novel concept of global expectation affecting future events and explains senior moments and the Aldi grocery chain. As always, chapters are prefaced by helpful quotes from biographies, journals, books and articles. Another brilliant read.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.