Read what people think about A Thousand Pardons by Jonathan Dee, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

A Thousand Pardons

by Jonathan Dee

A Thousand Pardons
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2013
    224 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 5 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for A Thousand Pardons
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jeff S. (Murfreesboro, TN) (10/13/12)

An enjoyable read
This the first book by Jonathan Dee that I have read. I can't compare it to any of his other works. I can, however, compare it to the two most recent books I've read. Those books are the most recent releases by J. k. Rowling and R. L. Stine. The J. K. Rowling was terrifically depressing and disappointing while the R. L. Stine was just ridiculous. One Thousand Pardons was a pleasure to read and made me feel good again. While the characters are all far from perfect they are very real and extremely well written and I found myself hoping that everything would work out for them. The book was both insightful and original. I have not read a book that was similar to this in plot although the plot never seemed that original. I think this means that Mr. Dee has achieved something remarkable. He has created a story that makes you cheer for regular, flawed people while also being able to forgive them for questionable choices they make along the way. Recommended.
Linda D. (Williamsburg, Virginia) (10/12/12)

Thought Provoking Read
In the midst of her husband Ben's public scandal Helen discovers that she has a gift for convincing people in similar crisis to accept responsibility and ask for forgiveness. The subject is definitely timely and the characters are realistic and intriguing. Dee does a skillful job of creating characters that are flawed but sympathetic and I found myself caring about them and wanting to know what happens to them. The book raises many questions about personal and family responsibility, whether we are playing a role or being our true selves, and about our capacity to forgive. I could go on about all the issues raised but suffice it to say that the book is well written and thought provoking and would make an excellent selection for a book club. I thoroughly enjoyed this intelligent book and I definitely recommend it.
Power Reviewer Joan V. (Miller Place, NY) (10/12/12)

No apologies necessary!
An excellent book one of the most enjoyable I've read in a long time. Jonathan Dee draws you in immediately and you really care about the characters and what happens to them. The plot is not predictable, the characters are believable and well drawn.

I loved the lead character Helen. She is forced by her husband's actions to become an independent woman and we root for her to succeed. Mr. Dee does not make her a clich├ęd character as he could easily have done. He also gives an interesting inside view of the world of PR.

There is enough substance for it to be a good choice for a book club. I am definitely recommending it to friends and now want to read more of Mr. Dee's work.
Power Reviewer Joan P. (Owego, NY) (10/10/12)

A Thousand Pardons
A marriage, strained by boredom, infidelity,and public humiliation ends in divorce. The story tells how the three people most involved go on. The wife discovers new talents and starts a very successful career. Her husband handles his disgrace and punishment in a very unexpected way. The daughter is left in limbo and probably has the most difficult time coping with the notoriety,new places and friends and just being an adolescent. Side stories enrich the plot and tie together the theme of seeking forgiveness and admitting mistakes.
When I finished this book, I kept thinking about it. It is a skillful work that takes an ordinary story makes an extraordinary point in unexpected ways. I loved it.

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.