Read what people think about The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Age of Miracles

A Novel

by Karen Thompson Walker

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker X
The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2012
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for The Age of Miracles
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Michele W. (Kiawah Island, SC) (05/13/12)

Almost good
I was immediately captured by this book and its main character, a sixth grader with a crush on the mysterious boy on the skate board, who while grappling with puberty, must also come to terms with the end of life on Earth. I loved the idea of the sudden and inexplicable lengthening of days and nights, and the way that small alterations in the way the Earth spun on its axis quite gradually changed everything about our complicated ecosystem. But in the end, neither the plot nor the science could live up to its early promise. I would not hesitate to recommend The Age of Miracles for YA readers, but not for adult fans of dystopian novels.
Lauren C. (Los Angeles, CA) (05/13/12)

An Easy Read but Wish It Had More Depth
3.5 stars would be more accurate for me. I enjoy these types of dystopian novels, perhaps too much, since I read a nearly identical book about six months ago, "Life As We Knew It." in "The Age of Miracles" the earth's rotation slows down and causes all sorts of problems with animals, crops, and humans' living and work cycles. We see things unravel from the perspective of a young teen girl. In the other book, the earth's weather patterns are messed up when the moon moves too close to the earth after an asteroid hits it, and the main character is a high school age girl. So "Age of Miracles" does not get points fom me for originality.

That being said, I read it in an afternoon. It was well written and I thought that the main character was believable and real. I'm not sure if the book is characterized as young adult (the other one was) but it should be. The story didn't drag, and kept me engaged.

My main complaints were that not all that much happened-- it was a short book and I think the author could have kept it going for longer-- and that instead of trying to come up with a scientific cause for the slowdown, the author just decided that "we don't know why it happened." I think the book would have worked better for me if it were a bit more complex.

I'm giving it four stars instead of three because it kept my interest, even though ultimately it could have been more satisfying with a few more plot points added.
Katherine Y. (Albuquerque, NM) (05/11/12)

A gripping ode to our world
I received this book in the mail last night and finished it over my lunch break today, so it is definitely gripping. The author writes beautifully about the world of young adolescent girl as the world slowly dies. Some reviews have characterized the book as depressing, but I thought it had a hopeful tone as all the characters slowly adapted to the changing world. Hard to read this book and not come away thinking about doing more to preserve the world we have. My only complaint is that I wished this book were longer.
Catherine H. (Nashua, NH) (05/11/12)

Slowing down, still going on....
I finished this book only few hours ago but I am still under its spell. I can only but strongly recommend it. This is the story of 11 year old Julia and her family discovering that one day, earth rotation has started slowing down with unimaginable consequences. The story is told by a grown up Julia. This is not a flashy, Hollywood type of book, but a story of how profondly such an event could affect people and their everyday lives and futures. Yet, life goes on....
I will certainly be looking forward to Mrs. Karen Th ompson Walker's next book.

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.