Read what people think about The Red Book by Deborah Copaken Kogan, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Red Book

A Novel

by Deborah Copaken Kogan

The Red Book
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2012
    368 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Red Book
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Vivian H. (Winchester, VA) (02/05/12)

The Red Book - a Familiar Theme
"The Red Book" is a readable story about 4 friends who met at Harvard and reunite at their 20th reunion and how life changes and how it is possible to reinvent oneself at mid life. The theme is not new. More Magazine profiles such women monthly. This is essentially an updated version of Rona Jaffe's 1986 "Class Reunion". As I was reading this book I had the nagging feeling I'd read it before...and then I recalled Jaffe's book, which I loved in the 80's. But, I didn't like or feel compassion for Kogan's primary characters with the exception of Jane. I wanted to slap the other 3. I think Kogan created some compelling & interesting secondary & tertiary characters...which caused me to give the book 4 stars.
Power Reviewer Sue J. (Wauwatosa, WI) (02/05/12)

The Red Book
A 20 year class reunion transforms four roommates' lives in an unforgettable weekend. The novel begins with short essays collected in the Red Book (published every 5 years) which highlights their accomplishments. In the first chapter Addison is arrested for 20 year old parking tickets and ends up spending the night in jail. This is just the beginning of a roller coaster ride that spans the entire weekend. This story is about new beginnings and second chances in life. I had trouble putting the book down - highly recommended.

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.