Read what people think about The Red Book by Deborah Copaken Kogan, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Red Book

A Novel

by Deborah Copaken Kogan

The Red Book
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2012
    368 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Red Book
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mary S. (Pinson, AL) (02/13/12)

The Red Book is a Great Read
I can’t remember when I have enjoyed a book as much as I enjoyed The Red Book. This is a great story of four intelligent roommates at their twentieth reunion weekend. Kogan expresses so well the feelings of a generation growing older and looking back at their younger selves. I love a book that gives you pause for thought. This will definitely be a great book club read.
Power Reviewer Sue P. (Richardson, TX) (02/12/12)

Liked It; Not Sure If I Did
I read every word of this in just a few days and while I thought it had some really terrific substance, I also wasn't very engaged by most of the protagonists. Maybe TMI - hard to keep up with. Maybe it's hard for most readers to relate to Harvard Grads. I did like the book and would recommend it.
Power Reviewer Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN) (02/09/12)

Disappointing.
I looked forward to this book because the description sounded wonderful. First of all, there are so many words in the English language so why do authors use the "f" word so much?? Do people really talk like that? No one I know does. The characters are so spoiled and shallow and seem to think having sex with someone other than their current partners is no big deal. Also, there were too many characters in the book which made it hard to keep them all straight. The best part of the book was the last chapter.
I will not be recommending this book to my book club. I'm not sure I will even loan it to anyone.
Sharon B. (Rome, GA) (02/09/12)

The Red Book
This is a very good book about a group of Harvard graduates at their 20-year reunion and how that weekend influenced and changed the course of their lives. The characters and storylines grabbed me and I wanted to keep reading until I found out what happened to all of them. What more can you ask for in a book?
Diane D. (Blairstown, NJ) (02/09/12)

Interesting Book!
I found this book held my interest from beginning to end, even though (or maybe because) I had no personal knowledge of people who had gone to Harvard. It was good to be able to read their entries for the Red Book and then see how their lives played out at and beyond their 20th reunion.

I felt as if this was a memoir, not a novel, which says a lot for the author's ability to bring her characters to life. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like a peek into the lives of those privileged enough to attend this school.
Sylvia G. (Scottsdale, AZ) (02/09/12)

"Truthiness"
Veritas is both Harvard's motto and the central theme of this novel. In writing their alumni updates for their 20th reunion, four friends employ various degrees of truth and during the reunion are confronted with how their lives have met both the expectations that come with graduating Harvard as well as their own hopes and dreams. Sounding like chic-lit for the middle aged, this novel surpasses that genre with it's good writing, insights, structure and smartness. I didn't put it down.
Mary Ellen B. (Hebron, CT) (02/08/12)

College Reunion Uncovered
Four former roommates reveal the back story of their undergraduate years at Harvard during their 20th reunion weekend. Despite advantages in life, their reality is a messy unraveling of betrayal, paths not taken and the myth of having it all, while trying to live authentic, meaningful lives. Smart, probing and sophisticated. The women and their friends have a range of experience and backgrounds. Touches upon lesbian and gay relationships, younger woman falling for older men, pursuing the artistic versus being practical, and combining motherhood and career. Over all, the book is an indictment of today's technology driven communication and the loss of true connection between people.
Ariel F. (Madison, WI) (02/08/12)

The Red Door
I found this to be an interesting read. I think book clubs could read it and have an interesting and thought-provoking discussion. Reading it made me think about people that attended college with me and how their various lives have turned out. Some that you expected to be very successful have not been, and others have done very well.

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.