Read what people think about Tides of War by Stella Tillyard, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Tides of War

A Novel

by Stella Tillyard

Tides of War by Stella Tillyard
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2011
    368 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 5 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for Tides of War
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sharon M. (Oceanside, CA) (11/04/11)

Certainly not Winds of War
I read many historical fiction books and usually love them. Tides of War is not one of them. I kept losing interest. Maybe it was too long. It started out good but didn't stay that way.
Power Reviewer Mary Lou F. (Naples, FL) (11/02/11)

English History
Complicated characters with historical backgrounds make for a very interesting read. The characters come together as the story evolves. Very interesting read.
Power Reviewer Doris K. (Angora, MN) (11/02/11)

Tides of War
Even though I read a good deal of history, I had very little knowledge of the Peninsular War. This book shows the English side and reasons for becoming involved.
The effect of war on individuals, families and countries is one of the main themes. These people experience many of the problems we hear about in the lives of our returning servicemen today.
The author skillfully integratesw real people with her fictional characters. Many of the new discoveries of that period are brought out, such as gas lights, blood transfusions,etc. Many items we take for granted are shown in their early development.
I sometimes found the book hard to follow as the author jumps from one person's story to another so often it is easy to lose track of the characters. The list of characters in the back of the book is very helpful in this regard.
Overall this is a good book for fans of historical fiction.
Bess W. (Marlton, NJ) (11/01/11)

Peninsular War
I'm a fan of historical fiction but was disappointed in this book. The period is definitely interesting and the historical detail is superb as the story moves between London and Spain. Stella Tillyard obviously did a great deal of research in order to write this book. I found there were too many characters to follow and the book did not hold my interest as a result.
Rebecca G. (havertown, pa) (10/29/11)

Unique Novel of War
I am a big fan of historical fiction. Yet, although I love the characters and the history, I have to admit that the writing itself sometimes leaves something to be desired and the dialogue is often confusing and stilted. I imagine its difficult to create interesting conversations for people long dead from times long ago. This book about England and Spain during the time of the Peninsular War is an exception. While there are intriguing historical figures and lots of rich history, the writing is gorgeous. Ms. Tillyard allows us to feel the pain of war and the frustrations of separation of loved ones without all the blood and gore typical of war novels. I felt the horrors soldiers experienced and the loneliness and boredom of those left behind. The author's description of a bull fight was particularly haunting; I was able to experience both the pride and joy of the Spaniards as well as the nausea and disgust of the English soldier. I truly feel that this is a book for everyone and every book club.
Power Reviewer Portia A. (Mount Laurel, NJ) (10/27/11)

A superb book
Stella Tillyard has written one of the best books I've read in a long time. An historic novel can sometimes bog down, this one never did. Her plotting moves through several characters lives and through war and peace but my interest never flagged. The mix of real and fictional characters made the story even more interesting. This book is an excellent read.

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.