Read what people think about The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes

A Novel

by Marcus Sakey

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

SavvySuz (06/26/11)

Life is a Raindrop...This is a thunderstorm!
"You are who you choose to be. Be sure you can live with the decisions you make." Daniel Hayes

The dilemma is that Hayes begins his journey in a haze (a play on words, Mr. Sakey?)... dripping wet, naked, confused and with no memory of how he got where he is...and worse...not even knowing WHO he is...his identity an enigma!

What decisions has he made? What has happened to him? Where exactly is he...what ocean did he just drag his body out of?
"Calm, don't panic...Retrace your steps...Focus...Don't force it. Tease it. Coax it out."

Sakey continues to hone his fine skills in writing thrillers that keep you guessing until the very end.
His novels should come with seat-belts...the plot twists toss the reader with plenty of turbulence in this newest offering, ....THE TWO DEATHS OF DANIEL HAYES.

Just when you think you've had an `AHA' moment, the plot loops around and you find yourself clutching at the proverbial straws all over again. You regain your footing as Daniel slowly retraces his and clues are revealed. However, all is not as it appears and trust ebbs and flows like the tide from which Daniel first sprung.

It's difficult to say much more without adding a spoiler alert.

Just know that once you pick this fast-paced novel up...you'll speed along with Daniel from Maine to California with petals of memories slowly unveiling a past that begs to atone and surprises itself in both dreams and reality.

I was very impressed with the author's sharp images of Los Angeles and how well he portrayed the city as if he had lived there himself!...but, I'm pretty sure he hails from Chicago.

I am a native "Angelina" and so Sakey brought back vivid pictures of places like Griffith Park, Hollywood, the unique culture of Southern California and a whole lot more!...even the Avocado tree that I, too, had in my back yard! ...but without the pulsating adrenaline rush!
Power Reviewer Diane S. (06/19/11)

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey
A man wakes up naked on a beach and doesn't remember where he is or how he got there. From there it is all thrills and chills as he attempts to find out what happened to him and where he belongs. Plenty of twists and turns, with some very good characters and some not so nice people. Sakey's writing is as always suspenseful and he's from Chicago.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.