Read what people think about The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes

A Novel

by Marcus Sakey

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey X
The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

SavvySuz

Life is a Raindrop...This is a thunderstorm!
"You are who you choose to be. Be sure you can live with the decisions you make." Daniel Hayes

The dilemma is that Hayes begins his journey in a haze (a play on words, Mr. Sakey?)... dripping wet, naked, confused and with no memory of how he got where he is...and worse...not even knowing WHO he is...his identity an enigma!

What decisions has he made? What has happened to him? Where exactly is he...what ocean did he just drag his body out of?
"Calm, don't panic...Retrace your steps...Focus...Don't force it. Tease it. Coax it out."

Sakey continues to hone his fine skills in writing thrillers that keep you guessing until the very end.
His novels should come with seat-belts...the plot twists toss the reader with plenty of turbulence in this newest offering, ....THE TWO DEATHS OF DANIEL HAYES.

Just when you think you've had an `AHA' moment, the plot loops around and you find yourself clutching at the proverbial straws all over again. You regain your footing as Daniel slowly retraces his and clues are revealed. However, all is not as it appears and trust ebbs and flows like the tide from which Daniel first sprung.

It's difficult to say much more without adding a spoiler alert.

Just know that once you pick this fast-paced novel up...you'll speed along with Daniel from Maine to California with petals of memories slowly unveiling a past that begs to atone and surprises itself in both dreams and reality.

I was very impressed with the author's sharp images of Los Angeles and how well he portrayed the city as if he had lived there himself!...but, I'm pretty sure he hails from Chicago.

I am a native "Angelina" and so Sakey brought back vivid pictures of places like Griffith Park, Hollywood, the unique culture of Southern California and a whole lot more!...even the Avocado tree that I, too, had in my back yard! ...but without the pulsating adrenaline rush!
Power Reviewer
Diane S.

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey
A man wakes up naked on a beach and doesn't remember where he is or how he got there. From there it is all thrills and chills as he attempts to find out what happened to him and where he belongs. Plenty of twists and turns, with some very good characters and some not so nice people. Sakey's writing is as always suspenseful and he's from Chicago.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.