Read what people think about Low Town by Daniel Polansky, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Low Town

A Novel

by Daniel Polansky

Low Town by Daniel Polansky X
Low Town by Daniel Polansky

Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for Low Town
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda P. (Medford, WI) (06/08/11)

Low Town
Low Town is an extremely dark fantasy. The writing style and the short action-packed chapters grabbed my attention and kept it. The atmosphere and the characters of Low Town were unappealing and grim, but I would read this author again. Anyone in the mood for something gruesome, quick, and entertaining should take up Daniel Polansky's debut novel.
Gail G. (Northbrook, Illinois) (06/08/11)

LOW TOWN A MYSTICAL MYSTERY by Daniel Polansky
The story takes place in a city called Rogus which is a part of the city of Thirteen Lands. This place is populate by many divergent cultures. The period of the story is not relevant. The story covers several genras--mystery, noir and fantasy.

The story moves along quickly but for some reason I didn't feel closure with the story's ending. It may be possible for a sequel to arrive within the next year or so?
Florence W. (Grand Island, New York) (06/07/11)

Riviting novel
Low Town is a reviting fantasy novel which hooked me from the first chapter. Polansky's writing transports the reader to the dregs of society inhabiting Low Town. I was captivated by the characters, setting, and vivid language throughout this book. Not a novel I thought I would enjoy, but I just couldn't seem to put it down!
Deb Y. (Blanco, TX) (06/07/11)

Most Unusual
With the plethora of vamp/Goth/absolutely dark books, this one stands out. It is a gritty, grimy, crime-ridden look at the otherworld, and Daniel Polansky is an author to keep an eye on as he matures. He also has a web page to go with the book, so check it out!
Catharine L. (Petoskey, (06/06/11)

not for the faint-hearted
The title, Low Town, describes exactly what the reader is in for. If you enjoy reading about drunks, druggies, and degenerates, this is the book for you. It is a mystery; and Warden, an ex-government detective, discovers the first of several murdered children and becomes involved. A glossary would have helped to define words - scryer, wyrm. Most of the characters had few redeeming qualities, and I didn't care what happened to them.
Power Reviewer
Daniel A. (Naugatuck, CT) (06/06/11)

Low Town
This first novel by the author is a cross-genre story; a science fiction and murder mystery. I found myself immersed into the plot until the very end. People have told me that I have an above average vocabulary, but I had difficulty in reading parts of this book. I'm sure if the author used simpler words, he would reach a wider audience. Overall, I enjoyed reading it.
Jill S. (Eagle, ID) (06/05/11)

Great summer read
Low Town is a great book! Be forewarned, once you start it, you won't be able to put it down. This book has a little bit of everything--fantasy, action, and suspense. Mr. Polansky's descriptions and well developed characters make readers feel that they are actually with the Warden. The ending doesn't even disappoint. I hope to read more of the Warden in the future. Enjoy!
Melanie H. (Beaver, WV) (06/05/11)

Low Town
This book is very dark and violent. I tried to finish reading it because the plot was intriguing but could not get past the violence and drug underworld characters. The unusual descriptive words prevented the story from flowing and made reading a little difficult.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.