Read what people think about The Moment by Douglas Kennedy, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Moment

A Novel

by Douglas Kennedy

The Moment
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2011
    544 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Moment
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Randy (02/09/12)

Worthwhile read.
I found this novel to be a worthwhile read. The plot and characters came across to me as secondary. I don’t know Douglas Kennedy, but it seemed to me that they were secondary to him as well. For me, “The Moment”, could have been a book written for the purpose of providing a backstory for a betrayal (perceived or genuine). I can almost see the author saying to an intended audience, “Maybe this story will serve you, not as an excuse, but at least you will have some helpful context.” There was also an irony involved in that, as I was reading in various scenes of the book about propaganda from the capitalist and communist sides of the Cold War, I was reading it within enough of a relativist angle that it almost felt like propaganda itself.

The merits of the book more than offset anything I considered awkward. Set mostly within the context of Cold War Berlin, the book explores themes of deception, betrayal, rationalization and survival. The author does a fantastic job of transporting me into an extremely oppressive system and enabling me feel how illusive personal equilibrium would be.

I received two gifts from “The Moment”. I loved the compassion for people often marginalized or judged. They were not prettied up, but their beautiful parts shined through. The main strength of this book was how Kennedy really captures the essence of longing. I have never read a book that put me in tune with my own longing like this. It is not a tidy novel and I don’t recommend it if a story is all you are looking for; having said that, I can’t imagine a person reading it without receiving something valuable in the process. A very thoughtful and thought-provoking work!
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.