Read what people think about Friendship Bread by Darien Gee, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Friendship Bread

A Novel

by Darien Gee

Friendship Bread
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2011
    400 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for Friendship Bread
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Becky Dodd (12/27/11)

Bread baking and heart warming...
After reading everyone's review, I can't believe how nice everyone is being to this writer. I did like the book very much and finished it. I did enjoy the references to baking and especially Madeline's Tea Salon. I was hooked in to the 5 or 6 main characters and I did care about what "happened next". BUT, there were too many peripheral characters too really keep up with or care about. The book was well written though and managed to tie all together, however, if you're not into baking then you're going to get bogged down in the minutia of starter dough, and so forth.
By the time I'd finished the book I'd eaten like 5 of my mother's home made yeast rolls dreaming they were Amish Friendship Breads! LOL, I did appreciate the lack of graphic sexual reference and the only 1 or 2 uses of profanity which matters to me.
I enjoyed it. It was a fairly easy read despite the numerous characters, but not gripping or a real page turner.
To me the main offering this book has is the pain of a parent losing a child. I think the book could have focused more on that pain and the healing of that family, without all the lesser character story lines.
Laura A. (Jeremiah, KY) (04/08/11)

Very Good Book
I really enjoyed "Friendship Bread" by Darien Gee. We don't always end up on the road we think that we are meant to travel and this books shows us that sometimes something wonderful can come from that. It also shows us how healing "friendships" can be when we are in need. Truly a good read.
Betsy R. (Gig Harbor, WA) (03/31/11)

Sweet and endearing
I did like this book as it had great characters and a setting that drew me in. I had to overcome my bias against books written in the present tense, but once I did, it was a book worth reading. I did not give it a higher rating as I have read other books that seemed similar but I still would recommend it and will pass my copy on to others.
Elaine B. (franklin, MA) (03/30/11)

A Lesson in Friendship
"Friendship Bread" (the book and the cake) is nourishment for the soul. Sometimes as we grow older and busier and less patient we forget the healing power of friendship. This book shows us the many types and degrees of friendship that can make life worth living even in the worst of times. "Friendship Bread" subtly seduces you, I couldn't put it down! Darien Gee shows us the power of friendship and especially the power and healing in forgiveness.
Elisabeth W. (Durham, NC) (03/26/11)

Pseudo Jan Karon
Friendship Bread is an easy to read novel about women in a small town who find their footing after significant emotional losses. Although FB is enjoyable and has a fun premise, what happens as each character journeys back from her loss is very predictable, to the point where I was rolling my eyes. The second half of FB has the feel of a Jan Karon novel, but with a lot more willing suspension of disbelief. If you are looking for an easy read where all issues are tied up with a perfect, happy bow, you will enjoy Friendship Bread. This is definitely fiction written for a middle aged female audience.
Cheryl K. (Naples, FL) (03/22/11)

Friendship Bread
Darien Gee's novel was one of the most uplifting books I have read. The characters from the small town of Avalon attach themselves to the reader in a comforting, honest way. I felt as if I were inside the minds and hearts of each one, experiencing pain, grief, love and ultimately friendship. I could "smell" the aroma from each loaf of "Friendship Bread" baked and cannot wait to start my own.

This book will appeal to young and old, and should be great for discussion at book clubs.
Kelley K. (Lancaster, PA) (03/19/11)

A very "sweet" book!
If you are looking for a feel good book sprinkled with food references, Friendship Bread is your book! The book follows several women which have experienced a loss of some sort. Initially, I had a problem with the many charters introduced. The book would be great for a long flight (basically. Don't put the book down for a period of time). It is tough to remember the characters and their issues. It does make you think about the greater good and forgiveness. It is a G rated book. Overall, I enjoyed the story.
Lynn R. (Wautoma, WI) (03/16/11)

Friendship Bread
I really enjoyed this book and every time I had to put it down I couldn't wait to pick it up again. The story covered the lives of several very different women and how they came together to become very good friends.

When there is a sudden loss of a child in a family, the grief can take on a life of its own. Everyone grieves differently and for different lengths of time. I felt this part of the story was quite real and told how sometimes you just don't know where to start rebuilding. Words were said and blame given (even if not deserved). That is very hard to take back even if you want to, it is hard to start a conversation and move beyond grief, you feel guilty moving on.

I also want to state that the bread is very good, especially the chocolate brownies.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.