Read what people think about Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

A Novel

by Tom Franklin

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2010
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Minnesota Reader (09/21/10)

Truth and redemption
Two boys, one black and one white, are friends for a brief time in rural Mississippi. A few years later, the white boy is suspected of killing a girl, and although there is not enough evidence to prosecute him, he is marked forever by suspicion. The black boy goes to college and returns to the area as a constable, and the lives of the two boys - now men - intersect again in the investigation of another murder. But as the story unfolds, there are revelations and discoveries that put long-ago events into new light. The past is never really past because it has shaped everything that has happened since. The suspense is mild, the mysteries transparent, the ending too glib, but it's a good story about truth and redemption, with complex and interesting characters.
Maggie P. (Redmond, WA) (09/19/10)

Great story, but a bit predictable
This is a great story, but I saw what was coming so there wasn't any surprise for me. I really enjoyed the story, reading it in two days. The author has a gift for making you want to know what will happen next. I could see where the book was heading and wish there had been a bit more mystery. Despite that, it was a great book.

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.