Read what people think about Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

A Novel

by Tom Franklin

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2010
    288 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Theresa R. (SIERRA MADRE, CA) (10/11/10)

Good Book
I found this to be an easy read and quite enjoyable. The author writes in a way that gets you involved in the story right away and makes you want to know what's going to happen next. I think this would be a great book club choice as it would bring about some good discussions.
Laura A. (Jeremiah, KY) (10/11/10)

Interesting Novel
I enjoyed "Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter" by Tom Franklin. It was an interesting look at the relationship between a young white boy and a young black boy in Mississippi in a different time. It has some surprises that I didn't see coming. Definitely makes you think about how relationships with others affect our lives long term and what our responsibilities to others are.
Power Reviewer Carol T. (Ankeny, Iowa) (10/07/10)

Exceedingly readable -- a page turner
Hard to put down, even on the weariest of evenings! I'll read this author's work again.
Juli S. (Portland, OR) (10/06/10)

The kind of writing I'll reread
This is not a fast paced book that I wanted to read as quickly as possible to get to the resolution of the crime story. It's a book that I wanted to read slowly and savor the words and images that Franklin paints with them. It's a thoughtful, slowly building story that shifts back and forth between the present day and flashbacks to Larry and Silas as teenagers and how their friendship developed and then broke apart. While it is partly a crime story it’s even more the story of both Larry and Silas.

The descriptions and imagery are the kind of writing that makes me stop on a regular basis and reread a paragraph just for the words. It's heavy with atmosphere and the tension that gradually builds makes it a quiet thriller. While by the time the investigation is resolved it’s not any surprise the other parts of the story remain enough to keep the interest level high and the story moving along.

The writing had the same magic for me as Franklin's first novel "Hell at the Breech" without being quite as brutal.
Jill S. (Eagle, ID) (10/04/10)

Crooked Letter, Crooked letter
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and will be recommending it to my friends and bookclub. It captivated me immediately, and it is a page turner!
The characters are believable, and although it was predictable, I couldn't put it down. I have not read Franklin's earlier works, but will be doing so in the near future.
Julie H. (Pine Grove, PA) (10/04/10)

Quick Read
Nicely drawn story about the relationship between two boys that grow into men in the deep south. The mystery was somewhat predictable in its ending, but it was a quick, enjoyable read.
Eileen L. (Danvers, MA) (10/04/10)

Never a dull moment
This is a page turner! Not the genre I typically go for I so was pleasantly and wonderfully surprised. From page one this story grabs you and does not let go. The characters are so carefully constructed and yet they, and the book, flow seamlessly. This book will appeal to so many readers - mystery lovers as well as anyone who loves a well developed, mature story. The theme of living with our pasts that are sometimes distorted and coming to terms with our history is poignant. The underlying mystery makes this book a true page turner.
Marie A. (Warner, NH) (10/01/10)

M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-P-I
Great title, realistic, sympathetic characters, interesting plot, readable narrative style! In Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, Tom Franklin has mastered well the ingredients of a memorable novel. Though some reviewers have hinted at predictable events, this is, nevertheless, a page turner and well worth the read.

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.