Read what people think about Your Republic Is Calling You by Young-ha Kim, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Your Republic Is Calling You

by Young-ha Kim

Your Republic Is Calling You
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2010
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for Your Republic Is Calling You
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Neil W. (Tavares, FL) (07/12/10)

Any Day in a Life
This is a cleverly written and plotted book which takes place in a single day. The subject matter is timely, as it relates to espionage and agents living under deep cover in a foreign land. While some of the nuances are likely lost in translation, the plot builds steadily to a very exciting conclusion. The similarities and differences between the two prominent economic theories of our day are presented well. Somewhere along the line, the allegorical connections to all our lives are revealed. A little slow going in the middle, but worth reading to the very end. Do not start at the back of the book or peak at the ending!
Susan S. (Lafayette, CA) (07/11/10)

A glimpse of a world we rarely see
I loved this book. It has a mystery running through it – who has sent the ‘Order 4’ e-mail to the main character, Ki-Yong? - but more than that it is a fascinating look at life in South Korea and the changes that have taken place there over the last 20 years, as well as the views held by South Koreans and North Koreans about each other and the rest of the world, plus a close look at one unhappy Korean family. The writing style is very straightforward, and not ornate, but the overall effect of the book is haunting.
Lisa A. (Knoxville, TN) (07/08/10)

Started out strong
I really enjoyed this book for a look into the daily life of a country I didn’t know much about (snacking on dried squid and seaweed?). I was really enjoying the book until about the half-way point, when I felt things started to get strange. A lot of the book was devoted to the in-depth activities of the daughter, which didn’t seem to have much to do with the story. The wife was obviously having some sort of crisis, but even so her behavior was not quite believable. The unfamiliar style of the Korean names also made it difficult to keep the characters strait. I’m glad I read the book, but I was somewhat disappointed after finishing it. It started off strong, but the ending was something of a letdown.
Sandi S. (Kula, HI) (07/04/10)

Your Republic is Calling You
What a great read! A tightly written psychological thriller. The novel takes place in the day after Ki-yong, an embedded North Korean spy, receives an email telling him to report into home base after twenty years in South Korea. Although it is only a twenty-four time span it is filled with experiences and reflections of Ki-yong, his wife, daughter, and their associates covering relationships, alienation, choice, murder, suicide, sex, and Korean culture. Kim does not waste a word in this well written page turner.

I highly recommend it.
Katherine Y. (Albuquerque, NM) (07/02/10)

Get ready to stay up late!
Once you start reading this fun, informative, compelling story you won’t want to stop. The protagonist is a North Korean spy who has been living quietly with his wife and daughter in South Korea for many years when he receives a message ordering him to return to North Korea in 24 hours. The rest of the book chronicles the next 24 hours in the life of the spy, his wife and his daughter. The excellent characterization takes this book beyond being just a spy thriller and gives the reader insight into life in modern South Korea.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.