Read what people think about Bad Boy by Peter Robinson, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Bad Boy

An Inspector Banks Novel

by Peter Robinson

Bad Boy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2010
    352 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Bad Boy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ray P. (Selden, NY) (07/16/10)

"Bad Boy" delivers!
As one character is quoted in the latest effort by British mystery writer, Peter Robinson: "A bad boy is unreliable, and sometimes he doesn't show up at all, or if he does, he's late and moody; he acts mean to you, and he leaves early. He always seems to have another iron in the fire, somewhere else to be." That's putting it mildly!

With his latest effort, "Bad Boy", Peter Robinson continues the outstanding Inspector Alan Banks series with a tense thriller that may be the most personal yet for D.I. Banks. The 'bad boy' in question has shot and seriously wounded a cop (Bank's oft partner) and is on the lam with Banks' daughter, Tracy, as hostage. What lengths will Banks go to and what allegiances need to be made to secure an acceptable end to this nightmare.

This novel, as with all of Robinson's work, if fast-paced and intense and never seems to let up. What I enjoy most about the Banks novels is how he continues to expand my appreciation of music as D.I. Banks possesses one of the most eclectic CD collections of any fictional character in modern literature and always keeps me abreast of the latest and greatest on the music scene. Well done!
Betsy R. (Gig Harbor, WA) (07/14/10)

Bad Boy
Although some background knowledge about the main character Inspector Banks and also about the way the British police operate (which might explain the way the gun was handled in the beginning) would be helpful, this new installment in this series is still a well-written and fast paced story. It falls slightly more into the thriller category than actual mystery, though, with the "chase" element. The development of both Banks and his daughter Tracy does add to the depth of the book. I would recommend it.
Power Reviewer Jane N. (Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey) (07/14/10)

Bad Boy done Right
This is a great read and a wonderful "who dun it!" I especially enjoyed the female police detective. All of the characters are well developed and the plot line is well though out. This is the first time I have read this author and I know that I will be reading more from him. He is a great find for anyone who enjoys British mysteries!
Anne G. (Byram, MS) (07/14/10)

Bad Boy by Peter Robinson Is Another Winner!
The latest Peter Robinson book featuring DCI Alan Banks is a diversion from the usual Banks investigation into a murder mystery. This novel is primarily a highly entertaining chase and pursuit when Banks enters the hunt for the Bad Boy. All the familiar characters from the Eastvale Precinct are here: DI Annie Cabot, DC Winsome Jackman, Det. Superintendent Gervaise and others that readers will remember.

Characterizations are brilliant, the dialogue is superb, and sense of place is established early on. A central theme asks what happens when all communication breaks down between a mother, a father, and a daughter? Readers are left to ponder the question that so many parents ask themselves every day and wonder what might have been "if only". The chase for Bad Boy starts off slow, builds speed, adds the element of danger to a Banks' family member, and races to a deadly finish that will keep readers up late at night to finish this book. Highly recommended!
Donna Sue D. (EATON, OHIO) (07/13/10)

BAD BOY
I did enjoy this book. It was a little hard for me to follow some slang or abbreviations since it took place in England. It would make for an exciting movie!
Bonnie B. (Fairbanks, AK) (07/13/10)

A Weak Mystery in the Detective Banks Series
This mystery is part of the Detective Banks series. However, it is by far not one of the best. The story is about a 'bad boy' who tries to pull a heist on a conglomerate of 'badder boys'. Tracy Banks, Detective Alan Banks' daughter has been involved with Jaff, the bad boy, and gets herself into a situation where she becomes his hostage. Banks and his team work to find Jaff and free Tracy. The writing, as usual is quite good. However, the plot has a lot of holes in it and the characterizations and motives are weak.
Norman G. (Diamond Bar, (07/13/10)

Excellent story hero missing
I always enjoy books by Peter Robinson and this one was no exception. The storyline held my interest and the minor characters were well drawn. However, the series lead, Alan Banks, came across as fairly insufferable as did the British system of justice. Issues were overly black and white and made American law enforcement seem idyllic. Plot excellent but main characters missing emotional connection (for me).
Cynthia B. (Puyallup, WA) (07/12/10)

Bad Boy
This story ramps up the action nicely with clearly defined heroes and villains. Interesting contrast between American gun laws vs. British as well as the criminal investigation process. For new readers to Peter Robinson, "Bad Boy" may not be the best place to start as there are many references to DCI Banks' previous adventures however, this latest installment is a captivating thrill ride and will certainly whet your appetite for more.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.