Read what people think about The Language of Secrets by Dianne Dixon, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Language of Secrets

by Dianne Dixon

The Language of Secrets
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2010
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Language of Secrets
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Terri H. (Battle Ground, washington) (02/05/10)

The Language of Secrets
I loved the title. I loved the cover. I wanted to love the book, but some inconsistencies in dialogue tripped me up and I would only give this book an average to good rating. Good ending.
Mary Ellen B. (Hebron, CT) (02/04/10)

Language of Secrets--A Terrific Read
This is a novel that builds gradually as the layers peel away. On the surface, it starts when a man tries to connect with his parents who he has not seen since he left home. This journey results in a shocking series of revelations. The mysteries move the story along as the pieces fall into place.

Poignant and beautifully paced.
Leslie W. (Burlingame, CA) (02/04/10)

Ho Hum
If you are looking for a quick read without any deep thinking, this is your book. If you would like something with a little more substance, choose another book. This book had too many different stories within it, you didn't know quite where the author was headed until the very end when she abruptly tried to tie everything up in a neat little package.
Power Reviewer Melissa H. (McKees Rocks, PA) (02/01/10)

Secrets Revealed...or Not!
Quick read due to the intriguing plot and the beautiful writing. The interweaving plot is told through past and current narration, keeping the mystery of the secret alive throughout the book. Thought provoking themes on truth, who we are in relation to our past, the sanctity of marriage and the choice to enter into marriage. Look forward to other books by this new writer.
Jane A. (Lakeport, Ca) (01/31/10)

A reader's delight........
The very first chapter prepares the reader for a whale of a story, and Dianne Dixon fulfills that promise to the fullest. Her story has many facets, each of which is explored thoroughly; there are no loose ends, but many unexpected turns. At no point did the story lose momentum;' I couldn't put it down until I had read the final page!
Melissa K. (Oviedo, Florida) (01/31/10)

Good Read
I enjoyed this book. It grabs your attention from page one. The alternating pattern of flashback in the organization of the book added to the intrigue. Hope to see more books from this author.
Rachel D. (Leominster, MA) (01/30/10)

The Language of Secrets
I loved this book, it has everything - love, drama horror, suspense. I would compare it to Jodi Picoult's books. Sat down to take a look at it and read non stop till the end. Will look forward to more from this author.
Ilyse B. (New Jersey) (01/30/10)

Secrets and Identity
This story is a mystery about a man's search for his identity, and how he needs to discover the truth about his past in order to face his future. While the plot was very promising, ultimately the book was disappointing. The story goes back and forth in time introducing so many characters and their histories, that it was hard to keep them straight or to know who the author was talking about at any given time. The writing style was also very difficult to lose oneself in - there was so much use of figurative language that a lot of time was spent trying to figure out what the author was trying to say. All in all, good potential, but a disappointing read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.