Read what people think about The Girl Who Fell from the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

by Heidi W. Durrow

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2010
    256 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 18 reader reviews for The Girl Who Fell from the Sky
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Laura P. (Atlanta, GA) (03/03/10)

Deserving Prizewinner
This Bellweather Prize winner addresses issues of racial identity, class prejudice, substance abuse, and adolescent sexuality through a compact, well-written, and moving story packed with sympathetic and well-defined characters. The story revolves around an unthinkable family tragedy and its impact on the several narrators, most notably Rachael, a mixed-race child who is the survivor of the event. While the story is not a mystery, the details of the keynote incident are revealed slowly through out the story in a way that allows the author, Heidi Durrow, to explore a number of issues from various perspectives. It's compelling reading!
Eileen P. (Pittsford, NY) (02/28/10)

Who Am I?
This beautifully written novel explores the many ways that grief can change lives. Durrow uses five diverse narrators to slowly unveil the shocking tragedy that has become one of the central event of all of their lives. This moving and unique novel would be an excellent discussion book. It raises numerous questions about racial identity, adolescent sexuality, and the numerous ways that parents can harm their children.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.