Read what people think about Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Secret Daughter

A Novel

by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Secret Daughter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2010
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for Secret Daughter
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ann L. (Arnold, MD) (01/13/10)

Secret Daughter
Good story, parts of book which took place in India were excellent. The dialogue in the beginning was a little stilted but improved throughout the book as well as the writing style. The character of Asha was excellent and well developed. I liked Kativa and the grandmother also. But Somer seemed somewhat artificial and lacking in depth. There might have been too many issues covered in the book and better to focus on just a few. However, I kept on thinking about parts of the book that took place in Mumbai after I finished reading it and that for me is the sign of a good book.
(Phoenix, AZ) (01/09/10)

"Secret Daughter"
I was unable to put this book down. It had everything........plot, interesting characters, location, and a rewarding ending. This is for anyone interested in learning about other cultures, and the emotional turmoil of motherhood.
Mary Lou C. (Shenandoah Junction, WV) (01/09/10)

Secret Daughter
Secret Daughter is a tale of two worlds. It is filled with despair, yet ever hopeful. The author captures the complexities of blending two very different cultures, made more challenging with adoption. It is a story for and about women, and you quickly connect with the characters. Despite the misery and destitution the author shares with you, the story is uplifting and optimistic. The strength and common bond of motherhood and "family" is evident no matter what culture or setting. The women in this story are inspiring and resilient. I highly recommend this book.
Susan J. (Twain Harte, CA) (01/08/10)

I couldn't put down this book!
"Secret Daughter" transported me to another world in the way of "Shanghai Girls", "Honolulu", "Cutting for Stone", "The Help", and "On the Corner of Bitter and Sweet", but in addition this book engaged me on a deep emotional level. My only regret is that it could have been expanded by not skipping ahead in time so often. I wanted to know so much more about these families. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well-written, gripping story, and especially to those who can relate to living in two cultures or to the complex issues of adoption. I know I would have loved this book anyway, even if I didn't have a three-year old granddaughter adopted from Kolkata.
Power Reviewer Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN) (01/07/10)

Excellent book
Secret Daughter is a story of love, contrast of cultures and family conflict. The depth of understanding in the book is so touching. The unconditional love of a Mother for her child and what she will do for that chld is a focal point.

The contract of cultures in India is expressed vividly. There is so much in this book that would be wonderful for discussion with any book group. I will recommend it to mine. After I started the book I couldn't put it down. It is a winner!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.