Read what people think about The Story Sisters by Alice Hoffman, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Story Sisters

A Novel

by Alice Hoffman

The Story Sisters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2009
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for The Story Sisters
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Evangelyn Antoni (02/14/15)

Fantastic
At first I was really wondering what story would it be as I read the title, when I was about to buy this book in a bookstore. During my semestral break I focused on reading it. While moving on with the next page, I can't really stop myself guessing if what would happen next. I really love this book. So fantastic, and full of lessons for students of my age.
Vivianne (11/18/10)

The Story Sisters
This book is simply amazing. The words, the ideas, the characters are all captivating. Yes, I agree that logic may not be this book's strongest point, but logic does not necessarily need to exist to create a beautiful piece like this. The separation between the two worlds are great, but I find myself more drawn to Arnelle, due to the descriptive mysteriousness of it. I really recommend this book to fellow daydreamers who love to sometimes drift into the solitary worlds of their own.
kip (03/13/10)

would like to like it more if -
Well written with characters who you care about but too many lapses that stretch credulity. Why even have the father? Ii have no idea who he is by what she wrote and he is a cliche almost to parody by not caring about whether his daughters or ex wife live or die. Because he has a girlfriend and rides around in a convertible - this is supposed to somehow indicate the type of man who would not attend his daughter's funeral or wedding - if his behavior is this bad give us a reason. Nobody even mentions him in inner thoughts. Totally unbelievable. And if Elv and Lorry are drug addicts which we are led to believe over and over why is there never a mention about getting them help from a rehab or narcotics anonymous or a therapist or something! And Elv magically stops on her own after being a totally self-destructive drug addict culminating in heroin living with someone who is using unto his overdose death. unbelievable. And the episode with the pedophile strains credulity as well. She saves her sister by going with a pedophile and her sister says nothing to anybody like where is this man taking my sister mom - forget dad obviously - and nobody ever says anything about this guy. I know the school covers it up but still the ring of truth is not there. Seems too contrived. And Lorry - this guy is a heroin addict for years and waits for her to get out of prison for several years and functions well enough to have a BMW and has an apartment building and - heroin addicts I have known are somewhat different especially over time. Too may lapses which is too bad because there are passages which are quite moving and descriptions which are poetic and just feels a little forced as too many books are to have elements which shock and are unique to set them apart.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.