Read what people think about Valeria's Last Stand by Marc Fitten, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Valeria's Last Stand

by Marc Fitten

Valeria's Last Stand
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2009
    272 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Valeria's Last Stand
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Diane (03/10/09)

Nice and light!
Valeria's Last Stand is full of funny & quirky characters, although I felt the book moved along in fits & starts, at times dragging. Fitten's detailed descriptions encourage the reader to imagine just what the townspeople and landscape would look like! If you're looking for a quick & cute read, this is your book!
Fran (retired high school librarian) (03/07/09)

Valeria's Last Stand
An enjoyable book. I liked the descriptions of this Hungarian town, and its surroundings. The interactions of the people gave the story life. The contrast between Valeria and Ibolya was especially notable; and I could even picture in my mind the sculptures of the potter.
Power Reviewer Priscilla (03/06/09)

Unlikely Heroine
Zivatar is a small Hungarian village that has managed to exclude itself from the march of time and technology, and the setting comes across as something out of the Middle Ages because nothing ever changes. Not even Valeria, the crusty village shrew. That is, until she falls head over heels in love at the ripe old age of 68.

When I first met Valeria, I was not prepared to like her as the main character. As the story unfolds, so does the life of Valeria. You can't help but cheer for her as she battles for the affection of the village potter. Supported by a cast of hilarious characters, the village and Valeria find their way into a new life and a new world. Valeria's Last Stand is a fun read and you will enjoy the comical characters you will meet in Zivatar.
Patricia (03/06/09)

A Whale in a Puddle
It's almost impossible to believe that this wonderful little gem of a book is a first novel by a young writer. The characters are vibrant, alive, and the reader cares about them; the story is ever-changing and holds the interest; and all's well that ends well, as they say! As a retired editor (and having once been engaged to a Serb) I could find no fault, except that it is too short! Quickly, where is the next one, Marc?
Jane (03/04/09)

A folktale for the modern age.
Marc Fitten's first novel, Valeria's Last Stand, is a delightfully crafted tale of love, disillusionment, betrayal, greed, corruption, and friendship in a small village in Hungary. It's a small village in Hungary, but we can all see ourselves in Fitten's characters. Full of symbolism and simple humanity, this is a lovely and satisfying refuge in the midst of today's complexity. A simple, warm, and wonderful read.
Barbara (03/03/09)

An enjoyable read!
For the first 20 pages of this book, I thought,"Oh, no, this book is going to be horrible. I can't believe I have to an ARC review on it!" But, the book got much better, and I enjoyed it!

The book has some central themes that are presented in an entertaining manner: the transition from a communist/socialist society to a capitalist society; the older generation's feelings about the end of their golden age; corrupt politics - presented in a fable/fairy tale style. Valeria, the crusty old woman, grows on you. The potter is a wonderful character. And Ibolya, the tavern owner, is quintessential in her role. In some ways, this book reminded me of Joanne Harris' Chocolat. The author has said he envisions this as the first book in a trilogy that will explore "how three generations of people were affected by the major shift in the late 1980s." After reading Valeria's Last Stand, I will look forward to reading the next two installments when they are published.
Power Reviewer Donna (03/02/09)

Valeria's Last Stand
This was a charming story mainly about a romantic triangle but with political undertones. The characters are endearing and many of the situations are humorous. It was an easy read, and because it was written in a fable format it had a somewhat different feel to it. Definitely worth reading.
Susan (03/01/09)

Pleasing Surprise
This love story has an unexpected romantic couple and is written very much like a Hungarian folk tale. Some of the characters are not named and referred to only by their occupation: the potter, the mayor, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and its cast of zany characters. I highly recommend it.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.