Read what people think about The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Heretic Queen

A Novel

by Michelle Moran

The Heretic Queen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Sep 2008
    400 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Heretic Queen
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Archaeology student, croatia (09/22/12)

Ambivalent
Michelle Moran is an average writer but since l m addicted to ancient history and history novels, l read all of her books. Heretic queen has a good and interesting plot, but the way of writing is a bit average, and descriptions are not enough rich and seductive. Psychological characterization is sometimes naive and it has not devoted enough attention to it. Female characters through all of her books are repetitive, the main protagonist is always an intelligent heroine who is thrust into the fire of intrigues and always has a happy ending. For all who love Egyptian history and intrigue in the style of Anne Boleyn, but in the Egyptian time, read it. Those who are looking for really good literary work, they should look elsewhere. But, all in all, it is a good light novel, especially good for reading at the beach or while waiting a bus at the station.
Alivia Bettinzoli (06/28/10)

Intriguing and Addictive
The best way I can explain this book is to call it an ancient Egyptian version of Gossip Girl. It's filled with issues that a girl of Nefer's age should not have to deal with, but she does and she handles herself with grace and dignity. The book is so addictive that I actually got upset when I finished it. Definitely read Nefertiti first, as it will provide background for characters and history of their families. It's really an amazing book and so enjoyable!
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.