Read what people think about The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Palace of Illusions

by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

The Palace of Illusions
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2008
    384 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Palace of Illusions
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cecilia (02/24/08)

Entertaining and Engaging
I am a fan of Divakaruni and have enjoyed her previous novels. This is a departure from her earlier writing. It is a retelling of the Mahabharat epic from the point of view of the women, primarily Princess Panchaali, born of fire and married to the five kings of India. While the characters do not have the same depth of development as those in her other novels, this is still an engrossing and engaging story. The writing is beautiful, especially the almost lyrical descriptions of the palace and gardens. I found the Indian mythology fascinating, with some parallels to Greek and Roman mythology but also very unique.The women's perspective makes the story even more engaging.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.