Read what people think about Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Crispin: The Cross of Lead

by Avi

Crispin: The Cross of Lead
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2002
    272 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for Crispin: The Cross of Lead
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Fatima (03/20/15)

Crispin by Avi review
The book “Crispin” by Avi is very riveting and keeps you wanting more because all of the suspense it has. It is very thrilling and has many cliffhangers which make you want to keep reading. This book has many morals and lessons to teach people. This book is very exciting with all the challenges Crispin goes through. All the people have very weird/funny personalities. They have their own point of views and way of looking at everything. As you can, “Crispin” by Avi is a very riveting and thrilling book.
Kiara Gonzalez (03/20/15)

Crispin: Cross of Lead Review
The novel Crispin by Avi is a brilliantly written book, because it captures yet informs you about the life of a peasant during the Middle Ages while telling a story about a boy seeking the truth. The book takes place in 15th century England, and is told through the eyes of a young peasant boy who is called Asta’s Son. He is looked down upon by everyone around him, and is considered nothing more than an outcast. Everything was manageable, until the fateful day when his whole world was turned upside down. Now the young boy must turn his back on everything he has ever known, to seek the truth of his parents and past. This novel will inform you about the way of life during the Middle Ages. Crispin is a fascinating story about a boy’s adventure through England.
Cruz Soto (03/20/15)

Cruz Soto Hibler Student-Cross of Lead review
The novel Crispin, by Avi, is an interesting novel because it has a good storyline intertwined with historical medieval feudalism. Crispin is based in a manor owned by a wealthy landowner known as Lord Furnival. However, when Furnival perishes, things start to go wrong. A young boy known as Asta's son is forced to flee the manor. What problems will he face and shall he be able to overcome them? This sparks much interest and suspense, as to make it more of both. In conclusion, Crispin, by Avi, is an interesting and suspenseful novel due to the fact of the boy's uncertain fate.
AnaAlicia (03/20/15)

Crispin
The novel Crispin by Avi is a very thrilling book because so many unexpected events appear on the path they are traveling. Crispin is a very mysterious and adventurous story. Crispin has an amazing plot and is a great book to read. I would recommend this hair-raising, heart-stopping, and exciting book. This book will leave you crying, laughing, smiling and wanting more. Find out what happens that makes this book so life-changing. Have a fun time reading it!
Anthony Hodson (03/20/15)

Crispin Review
The book, “Crispin: The Cross of Lead,” was simply brilliant. The main character, Crispin, is a bit timid and scared and doesn't know who he is. The book is about the adventure Crispin endures to find who he is and who he can become. On this adventure he finds who his father is and that is truly a surprise. The book is very suspenseful and can be very shocking. Please read this book it is truly great.
Josue Vera (03/20/15)

Crispin Review
The novel Crispin: The Cross of Lead, written by Avi, is a very interesting book because it always has suspenseful moments that, if you stopped reading, your mind would be bugging you all the time if you’re curious, which if you are, you will need to find out what happens in the next scene. This book is set in the 14th century in England, to be specific, 1377 A.D. is the date that it is set in. Crispin: The Cross of Lead is very ruthless with its description, but still, I recommend reading it no matter what age you are. There is a corrupt steward in this novel who no one would ever be able to like, however, there still are likeable characters, like the priest, and a man of many talents named Orson Hrothgar. The main boy will sometimes get annoying because he always talks about God and getting to the “good place” and not going to the ”bad place”. The book is enjoyable until some of the stupid parts like how Crispin just trips and wakes up somewhere else. In conclusion, Crispin: The Cross of Lead was a graphic, but interesting book, and you should read it.
Cyrus Vannini (03/20/15)

An Alright Read
Crispin: the Cross of Lead, by Avi, was a decent novel because while it did have an entertaining plot, it, at times, was a tad too predictable. It was very original towards the beginning, with Bear essentially making Crispin his servant, and, unlike what many may expect, he never manages to leave. However, once it became clear that these two would be stuck together, the plot descended into the all too familiar two-people-stuck-with-each-other-slowly-become-friends theme. Characters that were obviously suspicious obviously popped up later on in the novel, and for a while the predictable plot made it seem like the inspiration for this novel was a Disney movie, and not feudalism in the late fourteenth century. Thankfully, the plot began to pick again towards the last third of the book, with the book managing to keep the reader on their toes. The excitement picks up again with many scenes that do manage to surprise. In conclusion, while Crispin is not the best due to some slow moments, it could certainly do worse.
Student (03/20/15)

Crispin Review
Crispin by Avi is one of the best novels because it has adventure and suspense in it, but it does have one flaw. The flaw is thats it takes a while to get to the fun and adventure. The start of the book is slow. It starts getting good towards the middle and end of the book. Though it takes awhile to get to the action it is worth it because what becomes of Crispin and what he turns out to be is crazy. Crispin is a book about a young boy who doesn’t really know who he is but in the end he turns out to be happy and except his name. You also get a look at what it was like in the Middle Ages. Overall Crispin is a good book that you must read at least once in your life.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.