Read what people think about The Critic by Peter May, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Critic

The Second of the Enzo Files

by Peter May

The Critic
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Nov 2007
    300 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Critic
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Connie (11/11/07)

The Critic
Murder in wine country in France leaves you wondering from the first page who was killing these people and preserving their bodies in wine; and the ultimate question, why. The answer, of course, is not revealed till the end, but the murderer and the reason why are very much unexpected. A good read and enlightening on the art of wine making and its intricacies; and another stalker is lurking in the shadows to get to Enzo another day.
Emily (11/11/07)

The Critic
The Critic by Peter May is the second mystery featuring Enzo Mcleod, Scottish forensic investigator and professor. Entertaining and also informative, the story line is fast-paced and packed with action. The characters are a good assortment of diverse personalities. Along the way, the readers picks up a treasurey of knowledge about the production of wine and the world-wide rivalries which are part of the industry - rivalries, in the experience of Enzo, lead to murder more than once. Another feature which will please many readers is the puzzle-solving element and breaking of a code. Pour yourself a glass of wine and
enjoy a good read as you follow Enzo in a French vineyard.
Cheryl (11/10/07)

Have a glass of wine...
In Peter May's second Enzo MacLeod The Critic, the mystery plays second fiddle to the techniques of the wine making industry. Despite two murders and several attempts on the main character's life, the book does not really become intense until the end. It is well written and an enjoyable read, but the early pace is rather slow. This reader was particularly upset by an incident of animal abuse that did not move the story forward. On the other hand, Enzo's attempt to smuggle soil samples on the plane to the US was quite amusing.
Shirley (11/07/07)

The Criitic
The Critic will be enjoyed especially by those who know wines and are interested in their production. The setting is splendid. The plot and the characters could be introduced sooner and I think the characters need more development. Once the plot begins, giving shorter descriptions of the surroundings would help to keep it moving. The Critic will delight readers who love wine. A very enjoyable novel.
Pamela (11/05/07)

The Critic
While I did have a little trouble with the few French words used, I enjoyed reading this book. I learned a few new French words and a little about the world of winetasting: the fragrance, taste, etc. I almost wished I drank wine. Enzo is very thorough in his investigation and a very delightful man.
Kathy (11/04/07)

The Critic, by Peter May
I really enjoyed this mystery despite being somewhat annoyed by the way the women characters were described. It imparts really interesting information about wines, wineries, wine-tasting and a completely different region of France than usually written about without taking away from the mystery and the plot.
Gerald (10/30/07)

A Wine-Lover's Mystery
I am not a wine aficionado and could care less about the wine-making process or the nuances of wine tasting. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed this well crafted mystery. Enzo MacLeod is one of the most unusual crime solvers I have ever met; sort of a cross between James Bond and Inspector Clouseau. The characters are well developed and the plot moves along at a rapid pace. Despite the seriousness of the story there are even a few moments of falling down laughing humor. For wine lovers a 5; and a 4 for the rest of us.
Eileen (10/30/07)

Mystery and wine
The Critic is a good read. the plot keeps you turning the pages and the characters keep you interested in the resolution. There is a lot of information about the French wine industry, which I enjoyed. This may not be for book clubs but would be enjoyed by mystery readers.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.