Reader reviews and comments on Skipping Christmas, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skipping Christmas

A Fable

by John Grisham

Skipping Christmas
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2001, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 8
There are currently 59 reader reviews for Skipping Christmas
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anaiza (02/06/12)

Skipping Christmas
It was a great book!! I HATE reading but this book was REALLY good for me to finish it. It took me a while to finish it because I lost the book and then found it again so yea but when I read it the second time, I read it in like 2 weeks. Overall the book is very funny, it may curse once or twice but other than I recommend it for older kids (15) because of the way he uses language can be very confusing for younger kids. :)
Martha (01/31/12)

Skipping Christmas
It's a stupid, boring and very, very irritating book. Reading it is a waste of your time. I can only advise skipping this book.
Peggie N. (01/20/12)

Delightful, Christmas Book
I enjoy reading this book every year! It is short enough and so entertaining. I wasn't a big fan of the movie but highly recommend this story. My son read it for his high school reading list. He is not a reader but liked it enough to finish- and that is saying plenty....
Cecilia (11/27/08)

Great!
This book and the movie are awesome!!!! I give it a TOTAL thumbs up!! I think it is a great book or movie if you want to watch a Christmas Comedy!! I HIGHLY recommend it! especially for kids ages 7 and up! My mom and I LOVE to watch the movie for Christmas!! So get the book or rent the movie! As long as you READ it or SEE it! I know you will LOVE it!!
Jessicca (11/25/07)

Awesome
Its awesome. I would recomend this to my friends, as it gets you in the holiday cheer and is fun to compare to with the movie Christmas with the Kranks.... John is an awesome writer the descriptions and story line are awesome,and the comedy adds a nice spice. It is a easy read. GO READ IT
Maggie (11/12/07)

What A Fantastic Novel!!
Fantastic...I have thought of truly skipping Christmas.However, in John Grisham's novel, I gradually realize the true meaning and love this honorable holiday contains...skipping is not as easy as we think!
Alice (10/13/06)

Fantastic!
It's amazing how much alike the movie and book are.

This tale warms my heart - the true meaning of Christmas, compassion and family.

Loved it!
Katty (01/02/06)

Why is this book soooo great?
I read this book right after Christmas and I found out that it applyed quite well to me. The fact is our family went on a cruise for Christmas also, but we didn't exactly skip. That's why I think this book sooooooo hilarious. The funny part is when they are frantically trying to put together a Christmas party in 4 hours before their daughter gets home. The movie was exactly like the book, so I suggest that you go see the movie right after reading the book!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.