Reader reviews and comments on The Noonday Demon, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Noonday Demon

An Atlas of Depression

by Andrew Solomon

The Noonday Demon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2001, 576 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 576 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for The Noonday Demon
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Raymond Noas (09/05/04)

Kudos ... to Andrew Solomon! It takes courage and then, wisdom to capture in the written form ... the different masks of depression. I found The Noonday Demon to be comprised of valuable insights and filled with tangible proof ... that a father's unselfish love for his son ... can be demonstrated when his son will need it most!!

I believe I've been educated and elevated by the writer's enlightning and thought provocative narration style. This is precisely the kind of book ... that makes me wish that my Kindergarten and First Grade Teachers were alive. I would not hesitate to pick up the
phone to call (or) a pen to write and say ... THANK YOU FOR TEACHING ME HOW TO READ!!! The priceless and delevelopmental GIFT of reading is UNEQUALED!!!!
royal j. cumings (02/24/04)

The Noonday Demon has helped me to corner some of my 'demons' and has helped me to better explain myself to psychiatrists, a problem I have had for years. The book is never pouty and never preachy. The Noonday Demon is so articulate on so many complex issues that I had to read it with a pen to mark it's many bits of wisdom for future use not only for myself, but for my loved ones understanding as well. For someone as depressed as myself to be able to read a 500 page book in a weeks time...well, that pretty much speaks for itself. This book has the power to save lives.
Melissa Padgett (06/14/03)

I've suffered with depression most of my 49 years, and read many books on the subject. All pale in comparison to Andrew Solomon's The Noonday Demon. His deeply personal experiences with depression qualify him to speak empathetically, while his exhaustive and brilliant research opens door after door of hope, possibility, and insight into this insidious killer. Every word rings true. Even the title, with its admixture of everydayness and horror speaks directly to the heart of how pervasive and deadly depression is. This book is a must-read for anyone suffering from depression or who knows someone who suffers...just having this book in my home brings comfort.
Anonymous (11/19/01)

Even if you don't have the time or inclination to buy and read all 500+ pages of The Noonday Demon : An Atlas of Depression - I strongly recommend you take the time to read the first chapter at BookBrowse.com (click on the 'Excerpt' link just above). I think you'll find it to be interesting, educational and even inspiring. Highly recommended for anybody who has ever suffered from depression and anybody who knows somebody who has - and that pretty much emcompasses the whole population!
---- Davina, BookBrowse.com
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.