Reader reviews and comments on Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

by Dai Sijie

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2001, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2002, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (11/20/03)

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress is poetry in prose. It is a little book of joy. I would highly recomend to any one who enjoys fine literature. Hopefully we see more of Dai Sijie in the future.
Jove (11/14/03)

This was a terrible read. It contains no energy or flow whatsoever. Very dull and uneventful.
Chaing (09/20/03)

Very Good Book. However, I have a few questions. What did the ox tail in the book suitcase mean? What did the ravens mean?
Anonymous (06/29/03)

This book was excellent! Written in the very sparing style of Ancient Eastern fables, the plot is easy enough to understand, but the beauty is that it works on many deeper levels too. There is a great amount of symbolism, from the ever circling red-beaked ravens to the buffalo tail that is found among the contraband Western Books. After reading this little novel, you will want to run to your nearest library and read up on some Balzac!
Kurman (03/06/03)

This is a sparkling, brightly written account of a terrible time in Chinese history. The Cultural Revolution was a euphemism for Mao Zedong's despotic control of a huge mass of people, attesting to the adage that "...absolute power corrupts absolutely". I enjoyed the great humor that Dai Sijie manages to evoke from the essentially dark situation the protagonists are in. Their youth, their intelligence and their talents save them from despair and somehow even enable them to turn their condition into something positive. Love, incipient desire, and the ominous threat of danger all hang in the air. I await the film that will be made from this story.
cece (02/23/03)

I was reading this book for mah HS honors class and i enjoy reading this book. It's not all that but yet it's not bad either.
Pierre (02/16/03)

this novel is trully wonderful......as well as being a part of history, dai sijie has turned this dark era into a magical story......i am looking forward to futur bestsellers from this talented author...i've been reading through other reviews and how dare they say that this book is confusing....i have something to say to them: read this novel again, and if it still hasn't amazed you then you should go the doctors, you have a serious problem!!
Mary (02/07/03)

It was a very good book. It was easy to read, and it taught me a lot about the cultural revolution.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.