Reader reviews and comments on Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

by Dai Sijie

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2001, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2002, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

sdeyerle (09/11/04)

Unlike the previous reviewer, I found this to be a deep, intelligent read that should become richer with subsequent readings. Often tongue-in-cheek, yet still moving in places. Well written, well translated. This is not, however, intended for young teens, as it is likely to deep for them to truly comprehend. (There are sexual themes, though handled well.) The "romance" plot is directly intertwined with the "western books" plot, as it is important in seeing how western thought is influening the lives of these 3 young people.
Sorry the first reviewer didn't really get the book, as it was fascinating.
Thomas Given (08/27/04)

I read this book to see if it was appropriate for 14 year olds. I thought that it had too much sexual content for a young reader and that the romantic plot was given much more importance than the western books plot. In fact, they burn the books at the end of the novel. Over all a pleasant but not very deep book.
Pinky (06/02/04)

story is so very vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv interesting i like this book
Liz (06/02/04)

The story told was very interesting, but the way in which it was conveyed let it down. There was so much leading up to the climax, then such a hasty anti-climax.
17years
Amma (05/24/04)

Slightly confusing. The narrator never mentions his own name, thus making school projects a nightmare. Otherwise entriguing plot. It didn't pick up until half way through the book.
jk (03/12/04)

the book was great. it gave a wonderful look into a different world as well as making you relate with the characters. you really felt like you were experiencing thier world.
Stacy (02/23/04)

This book was very interesting and enjoyable. It was easy reading... done in three days. It kept you reading and on your toes. Some issues in the book were a bit disturbing and not enjoyable to read. Overall I enjoyed the theme that literature is everywhere even if you have to use your imagination to re tell a story.
Anonymous (01/12/04)

A powerful look at another world. A captivating story.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.