Reader reviews and comments on The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

by Michael Chabon

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2000, 636 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 656 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Austin (05/28/08)

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, by Michael Chabon, is one of the best novels of 2001 as shown by being the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2001.The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is of the most weird books that I have read.

This book is an adventurous piece of historical fiction that is base on true events but is written in a fictional way. If I had to rate this book on a scale of 1-10, I would rate it between a 5 or a 6. The reason for this rating of a five or six is that I had no problem with the plot, but the story using so many characters moving in and out of the plot was really confusing. At times it would go to fast and I would loss my place, but there was a good theme in the book.

I think the theme is about some people being scared of their past. The story is about a guy named Joe Kavalier who is an artist trained in Houdini-esque escape, loves to talk to people who meets this other guy who becomes his friend. This other man’s name is Sammy Clay a outgoing people that loves to read comic books and he is trying to write a comic book series. Sammy and Joe dream up a comic book hero. Then Joe goes off to war and returns dressed up like the comic book hero they made up to surprise Sammy and his friends. I really don’t want to give you all the plot because it will give away the ending. The book starts out in New York City post World War II on a cold night at Joe’s mom’s house.

What I did like about the book was that author was really good at setting the scene of the place as well as making the characters feeling like they are real.
Andy (10/10/04)

It's great! A very good twist of the elements of metafiction, science fiction, and realism.
Barry G. (10/06/04)

An amazing blend of genres, from an historical novel to pop culture. The book is wonderfully written, with descriptions of time and place that put you right there. My only criticism is that, at 639 pages, it is a bit long and, thus, somewhat redundant in theme.
cita (05/14/04)

AMAZING.

I spent the entire night just reading, could´t stop.
Jon (08/01/03)

The book was great at various different points, especially the first 250 pages. However, then it became drowned out with needless detail that ultimately leads to a rushed ending that is unsatisfying and in many ways incomplete.
anna k (05/26/03)

An excellent book, an intricate and interesting plot. The characters are sympathetic; even when you disagree with their actions, you identify with their motivations. Great ending, not fairy-tale perfect but reassuring.
SteveS (01/18/03)

The book is simply a treat -- the type you hope never ends. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.
Alexa Intrator (11/12/02)

I'm on page 592 and just don't want it to end. It's a brilliant epic with metaphors that work and language that is simply, or not so simply delicious.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Under the Udala Trees
by Chinelo Okparanta

Raw, emotionally intelligent and unflinchingly honest--a triumph.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.