Reader reviews and comments on The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay

by Michael Chabon

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon X
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2000, 636 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 656 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Austin (05/28/08)

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, by Michael Chabon, is one of the best novels of 2001 as shown by being the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2001.The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay is of the most weird books that I have read.

This book is an adventurous piece of historical fiction that is base on true events but is written in a fictional way. If I had to rate this book on a scale of 1-10, I would rate it between a 5 or a 6. The reason for this rating of a five or six is that I had no problem with the plot, but the story using so many characters moving in and out of the plot was really confusing. At times it would go to fast and I would loss my place, but there was a good theme in the book.

I think the theme is about some people being scared of their past. The story is about a guy named Joe Kavalier who is an artist trained in Houdini-esque escape, loves to talk to people who meets this other guy who becomes his friend. This other man’s name is Sammy Clay a outgoing people that loves to read comic books and he is trying to write a comic book series. Sammy and Joe dream up a comic book hero. Then Joe goes off to war and returns dressed up like the comic book hero they made up to surprise Sammy and his friends. I really don’t want to give you all the plot because it will give away the ending. The book starts out in New York City post World War II on a cold night at Joe’s mom’s house.

What I did like about the book was that author was really good at setting the scene of the place as well as making the characters feeling like they are real.
Andy (10/10/04)

It's great! A very good twist of the elements of metafiction, science fiction, and realism.
Barry G. (10/06/04)

An amazing blend of genres, from an historical novel to pop culture. The book is wonderfully written, with descriptions of time and place that put you right there. My only criticism is that, at 639 pages, it is a bit long and, thus, somewhat redundant in theme.
cita (05/14/04)

AMAZING.

I spent the entire night just reading, could´t stop.
Jon (08/01/03)

The book was great at various different points, especially the first 250 pages. However, then it became drowned out with needless detail that ultimately leads to a rushed ending that is unsatisfying and in many ways incomplete.
anna k (05/26/03)

An excellent book, an intricate and interesting plot. The characters are sympathetic; even when you disagree with their actions, you identify with their motivations. Great ending, not fairy-tale perfect but reassuring.
SteveS (01/18/03)

The book is simply a treat -- the type you hope never ends. Buy it, read it, enjoy it.
Alexa Intrator (11/12/02)

I'm on page 592 and just don't want it to end. It's a brilliant epic with metaphors that work and language that is simply, or not so simply delicious.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.