Reader reviews and comments on In My Hands, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In My Hands

Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer

by Irene Gut Opdyke

In My Hands
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 43 reader reviews for In My Hands
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jenna (03/31/15)

So Touching
I loved this book. We had a project due and I chose the Holocaust. This book symbolizes strength and love. Its amazing how one girl who lost so much can fight with that much strength and passion. Irene is a wonderful roll model and I`m going to use her strength and passion to become a better person. I love this book!!!!
Nancy (08/12/14)

A Remarkable Story of Courage
This autobiography shows how the author fought the Germans. As she states, it began with small steps, she began by feeding the Jews under the eyes & employment of German officers. Later, she joins the resistance movement. She was an extremely brave person. A young Corrie Ten Boom.
Lexie (07/15/11)

Forced yet Enjoyed
For my summer reading this year for going into 11th grade I was forced to read this book. At first I was SO not looking forward to it. It seems that when you are forced to read a book you never enjoy it. However, that is not how I felt here. I started reading the book and I was instantly hooked! There was literally one part of the book that my mouth dropped open and I had to throw the book off to the side. I think I enjoy this even more because it was a true story. Made me very grateful for my life. I would LOVE to make an impact on people's lives as much as Irene did! I would recomend this book to upperclassmen in High School and too Young Adults! It really was a pleasure reading it! :)
Zach (04/17/11)

AWESOME!
We are reading this book for our literature circles in our ELA class. Very striking story, really makes you feel you are in the war yourself!
ihavealife (12/31/09)

I love this book!
I am in 9th grade and after reading this book, I have noticed that everyone can make a difference. I think that everyone should read this book and rethink the Holocaust and what it did to everyone. It made me think that everything can be reached one step at a time.
Apryl C. Flint (11/25/08)

In my Hands
This happens to be one of my favorite books to read. Although I don't recomend it to 7th graders, I highly recomend it to 9th graders and older. If you are interested in biographies, especially during WWII, then this is definitely the book for you.
Kim (02/03/08)

Amazing
This wonderful book tells the story of a girl growing up in a horrible period in time. Filled with action and a touching story, anyone would enjoy reading this book. Irene is truly a hero. Five Stars.
Andrea Thomas (01/10/08)

Irene gut opdyke
I read this book for my 11th grade class and I absolutely adored it. The struggles and loss she deal with has made me realize that tomorrow is never promised to anyone. I think it is amazing and should be read by anyone that wants an experience of love and fighting for your right to live.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.