Reader reviews and comments on The Last Time They Met, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Time They Met

by Anita Shreve

The Last Time They Met
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 8
There are currently 58 reader reviews for The Last Time They Met
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Maria (03/06/02)

I loved the book and couldn't believe the ending...was it really all in Thomas' imagination??? There is just too much that doesn't jibe...help....hobana@attglobal.net
Rose (03/02/02)

I am in shock after finishing this book. I loved it, but am confused by the ending. I don't want to believe that it ended the way that it did. I will definitely re-read it. I also need to re-read The Weight of Water to look for further clues to Thomas. Anita Shreve is an amazing writer!
Anonymous (02/16/02)

I have just read The Last Time They Met and I am completely intrigued by the ending. I have many questions and am dying to talk to someone about it. Please email me at akim6@aol.com Thanks!!!
Anonymous (01/07/02)

I enjoyed the book but feel that its the type of book you have to read twice, since the end was so shocking. I had to read the last page over and over again to realize that this was all in Thomas' imagination and that really devastated me. I was born in Kenya so found this book particulary good.
NSL - Australia
Anonymous (11/15/01)

Having read almost of all of Anita Shreve's novels, I have to say that this is most definitely her best yet! The plot is intriguing as I am actually living something very similar to what Thomas and Linda would have known and can certainly relate to all of it. Even some of the names are eerily familiar.....ironically I read The Weight of Water after this novel and thought I was experiencing déjà vu. I found it interesting that an author would tie two books together like this and would love to ask her why. An absolutely beautifully written piece of work.
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Linda
I think that this book was good, but confusing. I read half of it and
then several weeks passed before I read the second half, so maybe that is
why it was confusing. At the end of the book I felt like I was not sure
what really happened. If somebody knows can you please email me at
chot6275@aol.com and explain to me what really happened?
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Aimee
I loved this story. I cried the whole day when i was finished with the
book. When I reached the last page, I kept thinking did I read this
right? If anyone can please explain what the last paragraph meant!
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Moe
I loved the book but was confused by the ending. I would love to hear
from some other readers as to how your interpreted the ending !!!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.