Reader reviews and comments on The Last Time They Met, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Time They Met

by Anita Shreve

The Last Time They Met
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 8
There are currently 58 reader reviews for The Last Time They Met
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Maria (03/06/02)

I loved the book and couldn't believe the ending...was it really all in Thomas' imagination??? There is just too much that doesn't jibe...help....hobana@attglobal.net
Rose (03/02/02)

I am in shock after finishing this book. I loved it, but am confused by the ending. I don't want to believe that it ended the way that it did. I will definitely re-read it. I also need to re-read The Weight of Water to look for further clues to Thomas. Anita Shreve is an amazing writer!
Anonymous (02/16/02)

I have just read The Last Time They Met and I am completely intrigued by the ending. I have many questions and am dying to talk to someone about it. Please email me at akim6@aol.com Thanks!!!
Anonymous (01/07/02)

I enjoyed the book but feel that its the type of book you have to read twice, since the end was so shocking. I had to read the last page over and over again to realize that this was all in Thomas' imagination and that really devastated me. I was born in Kenya so found this book particulary good.
NSL - Australia
Anonymous (11/15/01)

Having read almost of all of Anita Shreve's novels, I have to say that this is most definitely her best yet! The plot is intriguing as I am actually living something very similar to what Thomas and Linda would have known and can certainly relate to all of it. Even some of the names are eerily familiar.....ironically I read The Weight of Water after this novel and thought I was experiencing déjà vu. I found it interesting that an author would tie two books together like this and would love to ask her why. An absolutely beautifully written piece of work.
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Linda
I think that this book was good, but confusing. I read half of it and
then several weeks passed before I read the second half, so maybe that is
why it was confusing. At the end of the book I felt like I was not sure
what really happened. If somebody knows can you please email me at
chot6275@aol.com and explain to me what really happened?
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Aimee
I loved this story. I cried the whole day when i was finished with the
book. When I reached the last page, I kept thinking did I read this
right? If anyone can please explain what the last paragraph meant!
Anonymous (09/12/01)

Moe
I loved the book but was confused by the ending. I would love to hear
from some other readers as to how your interpreted the ending !!!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.