Reader reviews and comments on Fast Food Nation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fast Food Nation

The Dark Side of The All American Meal

by Eric Schlosser

Fast Food Nation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Fast Food Nation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jacob A (12/06/02)

My group and I researched the technology practice of fast food for our final presentation this term in tech values in society. The book was suggested to us by our teacher and proved to be an interesting read. The content was not too suprising (fast food is just like the other industries), but reading it was fun rather than dry.
Patrick B (12/02/02)

I used this book to help me with a big speech I did about fast food and it's effects on your health.It was for my fundamentals of public speeking class.This book gave me a pleathera of good information and really opened my eyes to how down hill the food industry has gone in the last 30-40 years.They've (companies in the fast food industry) have sacrificed quality for quantity just to make thier profits bigger and better, and it's disgusting.
Kate (11/13/02)

Too bad, Ricky- ignorance is not always bliss. You'll find no cliff notes here.
ricky (11/12/02)

this book is very disturbing. I like my fast food and would rather not know what is in it, who handles it, or how it is made. As soon as i get sick from it, i will then change my mind, but until then, i am happy with what i eat. By the way, i had to read this because my teacher made me read it.
Stacy (11/10/02)

The truth revealed in this book can make one weary of what or where to eat. This book hopefully will help change society and our eating habits. It sure has changed my views on food.
Jake (10/22/02)

somethings we just need to know about...
Kate (10/03/02)

I recently read a review that bashed Schlossberg's synopsis of our "fast food nation." The critics claim that he was selective about the facts he presented in his book, using it to bash the capitalist nature of our society. The critics missed the point: Sclossberg, in a thorough and methodical fashion, discussed the facts and procedures that contribute to how our meal is put together. Any anger or fear the reader feels is the result of not having known the process before reading the book. Especially poignant is the heinously slack USDA and FDA standards imposed on the large meatpacking companies that supply these food chains. Can't argue with the facts. The only way he could have mislead the American public was to literally get the facts wrong.
Joe (05/29/02)

A Great Book. You are what you eat. Unfortunately, as a nation, this is also true.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.