Reader reviews and comments on Fast Food Nation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fast Food Nation

The Dark Side of The All American Meal

by Eric Schlosser

Fast Food Nation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2002, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for Fast Food Nation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

47 (09/24/04)

Awesome book. A must read for any avid fast-food eater. It will make you think before you taking another bite of that greasy burger. Should be required reading for everyone. Use your head, and make informed decisions, read this book!
Em (09/12/04)

I gave this a low rating because although it is very informational and true, I was very irritated with how much the author branched into a story-telling mode for a while, (LONG while,) then eventually linked it to his point. It was hard to follow what he was saying and I got lost easy. This was required reading for my English class, so if I had read this on my own time, I would have put the book down within the first chapter.
Mark_Bledsoe (03/04/04)

Frightening, should make you think about your eating habits.
Chris H (12/14/03)

Thsi book was most intelectual when questioning the era of the century we are in. It displayed a nich for the facts that business is the driving machine in America. The fast food industry is just as we english scholars like to say "la ist normlish". Jolly good novel not up to par with Upton Sinclairs though as one stagnant rodent might feel.
Anonymous (12/09/03)

This was a very informative book. But way too many facts. The book was really boring.....i slept half way through it
Shae (10/14/03)

How could you spoil the plot to this book? It is a bunch of facts and is essentially the dark macabre history of the fast food industry. If your into history and like being informed of the horrible world we live in today have a good time reading. Though I gave it a low rating it is a very informative book. If your looking for entertainment I suggest A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers.
Michael Finley (08/13/03)

An interesting book to read, but a bit shallow. A great book for people that won't think for themselves. The
author jumps to conclusions without backing his statements up with hard scientific research. I'm sure this book is
popular with the PETA crowd.
Darren M O'Connor (07/22/03)

Excellant read. Schlosser is definite and centred with the facts. Althought his great storytelling ability is lost somewhere near the end amid multi-facts it's the subject matter and Schlosser's ability to present it using seasoned logic which makes for such a good read. Like it or loathe it, you have to hand it to Eric for a well-researched and exciting read.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.