Reader reviews and comments on Finding Fish, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Finding Fish

by Antwone Quenton Fisher

Finding Fish by Antwone Quenton Fisher X
Finding Fish by Antwone Quenton Fisher
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 41 reader reviews for Finding Fish
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Gram (03/13/17)

true story
As a former treatment foster parent, I can testify to the validity of the experiences "Fish" had in his foster homes. There are great foster homes and there are no so great foster homes. I have seen them all. Of the approximately 17 teens I fostered, all of them had been abused by their parent(s) and all of them were still searching for the approval of their parents. The foster sons who have stayed in touch with me are all reunited with their families in spite of extreme neglect and or abuse. Some of them are what I call a success in that they have jobs they enjoy and they are good employees who show up on time and don't abuse sick days. One young man in particular had come to me from our state youth correctional facility and now is a dad with a successful dog training business and a teacher of martial arts. I learned something about myself from each one of my foster sons and I would do it all over again.
Lavie Reid (04/21/11)

Motivator
This is an excellent book. I couldn't put the book down. It brought tears to my eyes as well as laughter to my soul. I couldn't imagine living his story. I believe many young people would benefit from this story.
Anabell (09/23/10)

very emotional but with an incredibly strong and wonderful value
I found this book for the purpose of my English classes, but I couldn't only learn new words, also I have learned as we have so much without realizing it. I admire Mr. Denzel Washington as an actor, in fact is seen all your movie, but this has stolen my heart, because "we can help one person, but sometimes we need the help more than that other person." It's an amazing story and admire. "My respect."

A C.
Rebecca Layne (03/02/08)

Stunning
This biography reads like a fiction book. The story of a little boy becoming a man is very interesting. I fell upon this book a few weeks ago for a book report for school. I wanted a book that read like "A Child Called It" and I found "Finding Fish", the perfect book I was looking for. This book is easy to read, for I am a ninth grader and understand this book really well, but this book is very complex in finding how Antwone feels and I felt a strong connection to Antwone. Antwone Quenton Fisher, I give you kudos for such an awesome book! Thank you for the last few weeks of enjoyment!
Shade Adeyinka (01/10/08)

Emotionally deprived
This is the story of a boy who grew up with an inadequate Love and emotional reserve to withdraw from in facing his life's challenges. When the family that is supposed to aid the growth and development of a child are the same ones taunting the child, through deliberate or indeliberate abuse (abnormal use), it would have to take a miracle for that child to survive and eventually overcome his life's obstacles to becoming a grown man. This, Antwone has been able to do as observed in His story. I recommend this book to any persons seeking to find the child in him/her and growing to becoming his/her own parent.
Karina Flores (09/20/05)

Finding Fish
I am truly amazed of Antwone Fisher.You are a leader, an example for all of us, your readers to learn from.Finding Fish, has been the best story I have read.Thankyou so much for the wonderful lesson you taught me through every single word put together into your amazing autobiograpy.I truly believe with a phrase you include towards the very end of the story "everything that happened did so for a reason,at exactly the right time,in exactly the right way, nothing happens to us by chance." I will always treasure this words, God bless you and your family, I wish you great success always, thankyou for teaching me so many things through your story.
Sharon (10/15/04)

I absolutely loved this book, we chose it for our bookclub read and I cant wait to discuss the book. It evoked a range of emotion in me and that "conceived" for me that fact that this is a darn good book. It is the story of hurt, pain, helpfulness, sorrow, joy, experience that ultimately showed that no matter what your circumstance God always send an angel to guide you if you are willing to listen. Thank you Fish for sharing your life with us. My hope that your story will assist another child that may be in similar circumstances and help them to triumph!
Alma Jones (03/30/04)

I am a college student and I was looking for a perfect book to read for my book report. That's when I found the book in the store. I saw the movie first then read the book. What I like about the book is it's more detailed than the movie. It touched my heart over and over again when his foster mom physically abused them and the lady that sexually molested Antwone while Mrs. Pickett wasn't in the house. I can't imagine what he went thru. I wanted to choke that lady who sexually molested him. My son was in a foster home for 11 months also. While I was reading the book questions pop in my mind like was my son being threated fairly when he was in the foster home? How was the foster mother nice and loving? By the way this is my very first novel I have read in my entire life and I am impress on how I could not put the book down. I wish you more blessings Antwone! God loves you always. You're a strong man.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

"Electrifying . . . as beautiful and as icy as the Minnesota woods where it's set."
—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Wonder Valley
    by Ivy Pochoda

    A visionary and masterful portrait of contemporary L.A. from the author of Visitation Street.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.