Reader reviews and comments on Cloud Sketcher, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cloud Sketcher

by Richard Rayner

Cloud Sketcher
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2002, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Cloud Sketcher
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda B (12/16/04)

I have to admit I took a couple of months of on and off reading to get into this story but stuck with it and I am glad that I did. It was a wonderful story that took a small, frightened, bullied child and showed his dogged determination to achieve his dream against strong contriction.

I am so glad I got the chance to read this novel before (if they do) make it into a film, but Brad Pitt as Esko??? I don't think so. The wonderfully talented actor - Kevin Spacey would do the job justice I think. Robert Carlyle as Paul Mantilini, and Gywneth Paltrow as Katerina with Lazarus played by Brian Blessed.

Here's hoping!

I'm off to buy another of Richard Rayner's books - just magic.
Tomek (07/14/04)

This Book is really perfect. :P

Regards

Tomek
ckootstra@yahoo.com (05/20/02)

Two different books in one.

Don't let the rest of my review mislead you: this is a good book, that is well worth reading !!
It starts as a strange poetic description of rural Finland, written in a style that reminded me of fairy tales. It develops into a unique account of the Finnish Civil War and the shocking aftermath in which many Finns were killed by their countrymen.
Then Esko (our "hero") moves to the States to pursue his dream of building a skyscraper and find the woman he loves. With the scene, the writing changes too. It develops into an "ordinary" love story where the characters are leading strange lives, mostly because there is no character analysis and we are just to guess (or use our own imagination) as to what moves them.
The pace remains hectic, but logic comes thin and far between.
But of course, we all want to know what happens to the lead characters (will they get each other ?) and thus we soldier on to the last page.

  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.