Reader reviews and comments on The Austere Academy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Austere Academy

Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 5

by Lemony Snicket

The Austere Academy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 8
There are currently 61 reader reviews for The Austere Academy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

cheercrazy (10/20/03)

it is great read it!
Angela M. Brown (07/09/03)

I think it is a good book, but not as good as the Reptile Room. because of Carmelita Spats; she is a highly stereotypical person. If I were to meet her I would show her what a cakesniffer is! For anyone who has seen what Count Olaf looks like, he looks like Snape. Too much of a connection since Lemony Snicket wanted Alan Rickman to play Count Olaf in the upcoming movie. But since Rockman is playing Snape, could there be a connnection? Actually, Count Olkaf also looks slightly like Quirrell. Hmmm.....
#1 Fan (06/19/03)

Perfect Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Jenny (06/17/03)

I have read the entire series and it rocks! I can't wait until September when The Slippery Slope comes out. I'm a huge Harry Potter fan, but sice I've read Lemony Snicket, i haen't had much time for Harry. I have to say this book was one of his better, and after The Miserable Mill, I have to say it is for the better.



With all due respect,

Jenny S. age 13

P.S. Pick up The Unauthorized Autobiography-it answer alot of questions. It was really good, though a little confusing.
Sean (06/17/03)

I liked The Austere Academy because it's the first book the Baudelaires have people around them their own age. It has nice and unpleasant, but funny charecters. It was a really good book.
milena (04/10/03)

i read all his books over 3 times and each time i read them i love them even more!
serg (04/10/03)

When i started reading this series of books, i couldnt get my head off it. Even when i was watching a soccer match in the stadium, which i like, i cant wait until the slippery slope.
Stu (02/06/03)

This book is good. But the others in the series are a bit better.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.