Reader reviews and comments on The Austere Academy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Austere Academy

Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 5

by Lemony Snicket

The Austere Academy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 8
There are currently 61 reader reviews for The Austere Academy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Amber Ugbo (09/26/04)

I love Lemony Snicket books. I plan to read all of them.
alex (09/23/04)

The book was excellent and even my mom read the series.
Jessica, 13 (09/06/04)

I Love The Baudelaire Books! Theyre full of adventure. Lemony snicket is a great author and I hope he continues writing these books!
crazy man (07/16/04)

the series of unfurtunate events has been the best books i've ever read. they are ver interesting.each chapter in any of his books get better and better the further you get into the book.i recomend this book to every one.
Kiran (03/15/04)

i love lemony snicket books.
Mad Girl (03/14/04)

This ia a cool but Creepy book my friends and I adore this series age 9-10
lauren (02/16/04)

All Lemony Snicket books are great!

Reading this book was very exciting, but yet sad. The Baudelaires' best friends getting kidnapped, it was very sad. I recommend everyone to read this book and others. Read Lemony Snicket's autobiagrophy. Just keep reading his books!
Anonymous (10/29/03)

It was so exciting!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.