Reader reviews and comments on Stargirl, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stargirl

by Jerry Spinelli

Stargirl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 192 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 53
There are currently 418 reader reviews for Stargirl
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sarah (01/31/05)

i love this book so much, but just bits of it were kind of boring. if jerry Spenelli reads this(i couldn't get a hold of your address) this book is so wonderful and it has such a great lesson, it should be made into a movie. if there is any way anybody can make this into a movie, they should.When my class read this boook, the next day everybody dressed up as "Stargirls" and wore crazy things and things that they would wear every day if they were brave enough to be as different as Stargirl was. The past weeekend my friend came back to school saying "I'm a Stargirl". We all asked her why and she replied at my soccar game I cheered for the other team. We were so proud of her.
Stargirl Lover 11 (01/30/05)

This was such a great book and it taught me so much...I loved reading it and could not put it down. Most definitely a literary masterpeice by Jerry Spinelli...
star gurl -to friends (01/22/05)

It is one of the greatest books I have ever read. This book shows reality. It bluntly tells the truth of high school. It is the fact that a fifteen-year-old child is brave enough to be true to herself rather than fit in with the crowd as so many of us did. This story is the most touching, to the hearts of hidden teens. Many girls can understand what this book is. It is a heart warming and touching story that makes you think about life. The only downfall of the book was probably the middle when things seemed to lag on. But it was the truth, life is like that. The author did not sugar coat it.
Starboy :-) (01/20/05)

An emotionally provacative book...it shows us how horrid high school teens can be sometimes, towards people that just simply want to be themselves, and not be a member of a herd of sheep.
unknown (01/13/05)

a wonderful book
Shelby (01/01/05)

I like this book, because, it show's and tells you too be different and true your self
hannah w. (12/30/04)

It was an OK book. I've read better books before. This was not Jerry Spinelli's best book, but it was still nice to read.
Anonymous (12/21/04)

great book

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.