Reader reviews and comments on Stargirl, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stargirl

by Jerry Spinelli

Stargirl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2002, 192 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 53
There are currently 418 reader reviews for Stargirl
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Allie (04/16/07)

Amazing Stargirl
This was an amazing book about standing out and being different. A fantastic piece of work everyone should read. Haters are insane I loved this book.
Jessica Michelle (04/11/07)

Stargirl is Awesome
I love this book. I would recommend this book. I love Jerry Spinelli. I am not the type of person that reads books all the time. But I am always up to reading a novel written by Jerry. READ THIS BOOK!!!
Casey S. (02/24/07)

Outstanding
Marvelous, once you pick it up, you won't want to put it down.
IndividualisticChick (10/25/06)

My Review of Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
This book is about being yourself. Stargirl is definitely unique, and nobody stops to realize it. Nobody says thank you for the nice things she does, and nobody really likes her. Except Leo Borlock. He tells Stargirl she should care about what other people think because he's tired of being shunned. The question that sticks in my head for the entire book is what Archie asked Leo: "Whose affection do you value more? Hers, or the others'?" Leo's afraid of the answer. Stargirl teaches Leo so many different things and Leo learns why Stargirl is who she is, and what she does, no matter what anybody thinks. This book is about being yourself, not conforming and learning that one person can make a difference.
Stargirl (09/18/06)

Yaaawwnnn
The book at the beginning is interresting and exciting. Then it ends up getting boring because Stargirl acts like a freak. I hate this book because stargirl acts so gay and freaky.
migdy (06/07/06)

this book was interesting
This book was good because it was interesting and funny, it also had some sad parts in which i liked it too. But in this case it was a good book.
Krystina Abriel (05/31/06)

weird
this book was straight up..weird
Foxy mama (05/16/06)

stargirl
this book is the greatest book in the world and i would definately reccamend this book to everyone. both old and younge. i hope that there will be another book called stargirl that is an exstension. thisbook is TOOTALLY COOL. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIAS GRAT BOOK. YOU NEED TO READ IT. IT IS A GREAT LENTH AND IS VERY LIFE LIKE. IT KIND OF what a real girl goes thruogh because at the end of the story Stargirl woories about what others think and all girls do. you need to read this book. cause i am doing this book for a repot for school and i cant put this book down. LOVE THE BIGGEST FAN FOR THIS BOOK FOXY MAMA
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.