Reader reviews and comments on Ella Enchanted, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ella Enchanted

by Gail Carson Levine

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine X
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1997, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1998, 232 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 25
There are currently 200 reader reviews for Ella Enchanted
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

sophie (10/24/03)

my name is sophie and im 13 years old. I really love to read Ella Enchanted and its like Cinderella but its have alot of fairies,orges,giants and elve. I really like to the ending of the story its really awsome!!!!!!!
I'm going to read it again is really romance and magical.
sweet_brown_sugger (10/22/03)

THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOOO GREAT! IT IS ONE OF MY FAV BOOKS! YOU HAAAVE 2 GET IT!
K Shelly (10/22/03)

I LOVE Ella Enchanted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I had to read it with a group with my reading level at school. I was a little disappointed though when it was like Cinderlla.I mean,glass slipers,balls, mice into horses,pumpkin carriage,having to leave at midnight,a stepmotherand stepsisters,fairygodmothers,and finding the perfect fit for the slipper.That's a count of 8 things the same.I'm at a young age,and pleased of being able to read it.I really enjoyed it.And for those of you who haven't read it......
READ IT!!!!
Emily (10/16/03)

I thought Ella Enchanted was going to be a BOOOOOOOOORING book. But I was very, very wrong. when I read the first few chapters, I was glued to it for 3 hours! I think it is the best thing sonce I raed Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix! YOU BETTER BUY THIS BOOK IF YOU DONT HAVE IT! It is SO great!
Alyssa (10/06/03)

My name is Alyssa and i am 13 years old. Ella enchanted was the most wonderful and magical book i have ever read. I think the way that Gail Carson Levine spiced up the popular fairytale of cindarella and gave it a few fabulous twists is just magnificent. I just love magical romances mixed with many magical mythological creatures. i could read it a million times and i would never get sick of it. I can't wait till the movie comes out :)
Katie (10/04/03)

My name is Katie and I am twelve years old, and I was glued to the book even after reading the first page! I have read it at least four times since I first read it, and was eager to buy it and say that I have it, because all of my friends love it.
I think the author did a very good job making Ella Enchanted a little, but not a lot, like Cinderella. I have all of Gail Carson Levine's books on my big bookshelf, but Ella Enchanted is my absolute favorite! Definitely read this, even if you think you are too old. No one is too old for this book!!
Caitlin (10/02/03)

My name is Caitlin and I am 18 years old. Even though I'm older then the recomended age group for Ella Enchanted, I still find this book to be very entertaining and a great read. The author writes the book in such a way that it holds your attention. One can not wait to find out what happends to the main character, Ella. Also, the story line is an excellent "cinderella" based fairy tale that anyone can relate to and enjoy.
Stefano De Luca - Brazil (09/28/03)

I attend Graded School in São Paulo, Brazil.
I think Ella Enchanted is a great book. I wonder how the author could make such a nice and funny story based on the boring story of Cinderella. I just can't wait to watch the movie!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.