Reader reviews and comments on Ella Enchanted, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ella Enchanted

by Gail Carson Levine

Ella Enchanted
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1997, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1998, 232 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 25
There are currently 200 reader reviews for Ella Enchanted
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Elaine Mero (11/25/07)

Ella Enchanted Review
This book is really good. As a 6th grader that does not like to read, this book is fantastic.I feel like reading this book over and over again. I am planing to read all your books. Thank you for making reading fun for me Gail Carson Levine!
Brianna (02/06/07)

this book is the best book ever
I recommend this book to any body who enjoys fantasy and romance. I loved Lucinda and how the author, Gail Carson Levine thinks about Lucinda like how she smelled of lilacs. This author writes excellent books I also loved how she explained Char. He was really interesting and I love how the author makes Ella sound . This book is awesome.
mememe (06/04/05)

Ella Enchanted
this book is awesome! i love this book, i can keep reading it forever! i love the story of it...it is interesting, and fun to read.. i love the characters and the prince char is so sweet! this is such an awesome book that i cant stop thinking of it..too bad it isnt extra long!!
THIS BOOK IS MUCH MUCH MUCH BETTER THAN THE MOVIE!! they messed up the story in the movie, i liked the book much much much better! this is my favorite book! this is one of the best books i have ever read!
Lyle Perez (05/10/05)

Ella Enchanted
I love this book. There are very few books in the world that I enjoy. This is one of those few books. Ella Enchanted is filled with thrilling cliff hangers that you just have to keep reading to find out what happens next. My reading teacher, Donna Washburne, loves to leave us with theses cliff hangers at the end of class each day. She liked it so much that she even writes to Gail Levine. If I could, I would do the very same but I have no idea what her address is or anything. I would love to read more books by this author but I want to finish Ella Enchanted first. In fact, I'm thinking of starting to write my own book. Maybe I'm a little young because I'm only 13 but my head is full of ideas that I can't wait to write down. I also write my own peoms and one of them even got published. I know I sound like some kind of artsy, boring, reading freak, but believe me, there's a whole lot more to me than that. This kind of stuff is just a small portion that makes up me!
kristi (05/03/05)

loved it
Ok first of all I loved!!! the book. I am 15 years old and I have a 10 year old brother that realy loved the book as well. I thouth the author did a great job of puting a new twist on an old story. You should diffently read this book.
Liz (01/28/05)

I am fourteen and I read this book when I was nine (and what attracted me to it in the first place was that the girl on the cover resembled my sister - then of course I read the summary and just had to get it). I started reading it in the mall while my mom shopped and I was so engrossed I just couldn't stop. The characters are so real and likeable (or, as in the stepfamily and Ella's father's case, unlikeable). It is a version of Cinderella so much better than the original. The dialogue is witty and cute, the characters wonderful (I love Mandy and Char), and when Ella is sad or happy you feel the emotions right along with her. The Harry Potter series and Ella Enchanted are my favorite books of all time! In fact, my copy of Ella Enchanted looks far older than it is - after so many rereadings the binding has fallen apart and the pages are coming out (I reread it at least once a year). The movie isn't anything like it and as a result isn't half as good. You must read this book!
khtdfghdjgfde (01/25/05)

This book was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's like my favorite Book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
sam (01/05/05)

greatbooktrie to read it iin day it was so good

<< po >>

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.