Reader reviews and comments on Flags of Our Fathers, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Flags of Our Fathers

by James Bradley, Ron Powers

Flags of Our Fathers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2000, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2001, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for Flags of Our Fathers
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Katie (10/25/04)

I'm in my third year of college, and have read many "boring" novels thus far. This book is not only emotionally captivating, but is written in a style which makes it easy to comprehend. If you don't know anything about the Japanese envolvement with WWII, this book would be an excellent and intriguing start for you!
kayenzee (10/14/04)

I am 26 yrs. old female from Guam. I read this book for a school writing assignment. This is a very good book to read and was very well-written. The author did an excellent job in making each character come alive. I feel like I know each of them personally. This is also very educational and it certainly helped me learn more about World War II and its significance in the Pacific.
Sarah K. (05/23/04)

Great Captivating Book. Couldn't put it down.
Author demonstrates complete knowledge, and
compassion for the subject - Iwo Jima.
Ryan (05/06/03)

The most excellerating book i have ever read.
Sarah (03/17/03)

This was one of the best books I have ever read. I am only sixteen years old, but I have had a love for history since the day I was born. World War Two is my favorite subject, partly because I have wonderful grandparents who tell me about how it was to live in their generation. This is a book that spans generations and shows kids like me that our grandparents took place in one of the most remarkable events in United States history.
Eugene Kinyon (03/02/03)

I started reading this book, like I have the hundreds of other books I have read. Unaffected, And more times than a few, had ended the books the same way. Unaffected. The flags of our fathers left me feeling as if I had lost my own father. I`m sure this book, this biography will stay with me a long time.
Brandon (02/10/03)

I have read this book several times in the last few years and i now know more about Iwo Jima than I ever have. This book is the kind atht when you close your eyes you can picture what really went on.
Paul P. Lazovick (11/03/02)

I've re read the Flags of Our fathers, several times, as it brought back many memories for me. As I served at Iwo Jima, and was there at the time the flag was raised. Like Mr. Bradley's Dad, I too was a Corpman in the Navy. The book is by far the best book written about the times and battles of the war. I think all of this genration should read it.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.