Reader reviews and comments on Ender's Shadow, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ender's Shadow

by Orson Scott Card

Ender's Shadow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2000, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Ender's Shadow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

steven (05/23/13)

best book in the world
Never read any other book better than this! Outstanding job, with detailed action and tension on every page. I wish there were more books like this!!!
leesha vamp (07/16/07)

WTF
okay I am Leesha Vamp (writer name) and for school reading I was instructed to read "Ender's Game". During my reading I was coming up with questions about the book. But even more importantly I was looking at the unfairness towards Ender, I know that it was meant to be like that but still I have thrown this book in bits of rage (as I am sure other readers have as well) and I personally think that its not right. What if Ender was you? I know I would have commited suicide from that pressure! Overall I feel that this book reflects a negative outlook to children.

But my overall question is this: Why would you push a 6 year old to their limits just to get a great commander out of them? But not just to save the world?
Cassie (05/31/07)

Confusing...much
This book to me in my opinion is not very interesting! I have to read it in reading class, and I just cant seem to understand it. And I don't like books based in the future, like Ender's game and Ender's Shadow. But this is just my opinion!
Chrono Nexus (12/02/06)

Ender's Shadow
A really, really good book. Card is a master.
Bean (12/12/04)

This book is awesome. I can't wait for a movie to be made for it.
sanji (11/03/04)

this book is almost a required reading for those who read enders game. its brilliant to see how the author was able to keep this entry into the series so refreshingly new, despite the fact that the main characters stories from both books coincide. both perspectives remain realistically different , due to the authors ability to create such breathtakingly three dimensional characters, that with every detail, you feel as though you are stepping into their shoes and becoming the character.
Shaggy (10/26/04)

This book was great but I would not call it better then Enders Game. I feel sorry for any miguided soul that can bring themselves to say they didn't like the book or not give it a Five out ov Five.
j-dog (06/06/04)

DUDE! this book was awesome. it was exciting, and i think the plot is WAAAAAY better than "ender's game"

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.