Reader reviews and comments on Ender's Shadow, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ender's Shadow

by Orson Scott Card

Ender's Shadow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 1999, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2000, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Ender's Shadow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Zach B. (04/18/04)

This book was GREAT!!! It was just as good as Ender's Game. It is a must read.
joe (03/03/04)

the book was exciting and well writen. it was i quick read due to the excitement and i couldnt put it down.
Hexadragon (01/18/04)

Great book-even better than the old Ender's game
John Candioto (01/06/04)

This was the first book of the sries that I have read. It blew my mind. I'm not a big sci-fi fan, but this is the best book ive read in years.
anonymous (12/01/03)

I loved this book. Anybody who doesn't like it probably just stopped reading at the good part! The first coouple chapters are hard to get into but once you get past that part, it is wonderful! The end was sort of confusing too but I still loved it! I went on to read the rest of the series. If you really like this book then I highly recommend reading the books about Bean, Ender's Shadow, Shadow of the Hegemon, and Shadow Puppets. This book is, no doubt about it, superb!
Keela J. (10/14/03)

In this book, Card depicted children in a realism that would be nearly impossible for any other author. The book's fast pace made for an interesting read and the events that unfurl along with the style they are described in make the book difficult to cast away for more then a few minutes. Ender's Shadow sent me scrambling for its sequel, Shadow of the Hegemon which is another beautifully written novel. I strongly recommend this book and most will not be disappointed. Card's style is enviable. It is nearly impossible to resist the temptation of reading the book for the third time.
I am 15 years old, but people as well as older and younger will both fall in love with Ender's Shadow.
Sarah (07/26/03)

I absolutly loved this book because I loved how Bean went from the horrid streets of Rotterham to battle schhol. I loved the environment of the story and I love how Orson Scott Card portrays it. I fell in love with it when I opened it, and I liked how people helped Bean along the way. My favorite part of the book is how it ends.
ender_the_xenocide (06/09/03)

I thought this book was one of the best books that orson scott card has written. I could barely put the book down. All the people who didn't like this book should, in my opinion, get their heads checked or re-read the book.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.