Reader reviews and comments on A New Song, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A New Song

by Jan Karon

A New Song
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 1999, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2000, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for A New Song
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Freda (08/13/10)

A New Song
I love every book in the Mitford series, but I wonder what became of Kenny Barlowe. Does he show up later and I'd like to see what happens to Sammy.
Darleen Barger (03/30/02)

I have read all five of the books in the Mitford Series and find them all excellent. Once you begin to read them it is as if you are a part of the life in Mitford.
I am so looking forward to the next book in the series. I want to see what happens to Dooley, if they find the other children, where Cynthia and Tim end up.
I received the first book at a gift, I bought the other four and my daugters are now reading them. My oldest daughter Kathy has read the first three and we sent them home with her sister Donna, so that she could begin them. As soon as my daughters are through with them, I have friends waiting to read them.
I hope that the next book comes out soon, I will be waiting impatiently.
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Judy
I just finished reading the Mitford Series by Jan Karon, best books I have
ever read. She makes you feel as though you're there in the room with them. I'm
disappointed in the ending of A New Song as I'm not sure who Father Tim meets on
his walk on the very last page. Tell me please.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Diane
I've enjoyed reading the Mitford series; however, I was disappointed in the majority of A New Song. At least the first half of the book appears to be a reprint of Out To Canaan. A brief synopsis of previous books may have been appropriate for those who have not read the entire series, but not a complete duplication of Out To Canaan. Is it possible that this is a printing error and not the author's intent?
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Connie H
The Mitford series was like going on a vacation where one meets people who they learn to love and want to spend time getting to know. Most importantly Jan Karon adds Biblical truths into the storyline that would bring someone to Christ.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Pixie Pizarro
This series is one of the most heartwarming that I have ever read. I have told many to read Ms. Karon's books, and all have told me how wonderful they are and how good they make one feel. Would just like to know if anyone knows when the next twp books will be coming out? Thank you,
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Patsy H
I have read all five books of the Mitford series and loved them so much that I just finished reading them for the second time and will continue to keep them in library for future readings. Am hoping Jan Karon will continue to write about these wonderful characters.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Karen Potts
If you have read any of the other books in this series, you will feel as if you are "coming home". There is a new location, a new church, and some new characters, but this book gives the reader the same warm feeling that the others in the Mitford series has given. This is a book of simple neighborliness and love, where the characters depend on God and one another. A real day-brightener!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.