Reader reviews and comments on White Oleander, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

White Oleander

by Janet Fitch

White Oleander
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1999, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 8
There are currently 62 reader reviews for White Oleander
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

motherofblue92@yahoo.com (03/27/02)

As an avid reader, but a very picky one, I must say that this book touched my heart in a way no other has. Janet Fitch is an absolute genius, and I surely hope will thrill us again soon. No book could be more real about life(both the good and the bad), foster care, growing up and being poor. I loved Astrid,and I still do! I think of her as a real person;what better compliment to an author? My all-time fave and I have many...(I also love Wally Lamb)
Heather (03/17/02)

I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was great!! I usually dont enjoy reading all that much but i couldnt put this book down. I think it shows a real view of someone's life in foster care and how they see things and how they can relate to certain people. At some points in the book I couldnt believe what was going on and that made me want to read even more. It makes you feel like you are there witnessing what is going on and you feel like you know the people in the story. I would recomend this book to anyone who is looking for a book that they wont be able to put down.
jack (03/08/02)

brilliance!
Anonymous (10/10/01)

From the first chapter, the reader is mesmerized by the story of Astrid and her mother and what will happen to them both. Fitch's descriptive writing and metaphors glue the reader's attention to each and every page. I am not a reader (2 books a year?),but I couldn't put this one down.It is intriguing, flooky and often with many twists. This is the best book I've read since She's Come Undone.The reader cannot put it down until the last page. I highly recommend it. Fitch's character developments and story plots unfold slowly to the reader through her careful descriptions, until you feel like you are actually there, witnessing the entire scene.It is sad,yet happy, tragic, yet euphoric.What will happen to poor Astrid?Read it and find out and it will be a rewarding experience. Ms. Fitch, I cannot wait until your next book! Job well done!
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Nora Fitz-gibbon
I am still in awe of this young lady's command of metaphors and vivid descriptions. I am eager to read more of her writing...so young...so gifted!!!!!
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Sue
This book, "White Oleander", was one of the best books that I have ever read. I simply could not put it down, and hated for it to end. Maybe, a sequel? I am awaiting Janet Finch to complete her next novel.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.